We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Wagamama - CLOSED

Wagamama
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Take advantage of the main shopping district which is only a few minutes walk from the restaurant, as well as the leeds market which attracts many tourists. We offer asian food inspired by the flavours of japan
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The food at wagamamas is brill, cooked really well so you can taste all the unusual herbs and spices used in their food. Well worth a visit but don't expect lavish decor very minimilist

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    105
    35
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unusual style of service but good food”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

It was my first trip to Wagamama. I liked the informal layout, but not the laid back service.

Visited on a Tuesday night last week, the restaurant was about third full, but the wait was a lot longer than you would have thought from being seated and then again for the waiter to take the order.

The food arrives staggered; which is think quite odd IMO out of the 6 of use one took ages to come.. I had the Firecracker (Prawn) it was really tasty and as promised a real firecracker!

I would go again and would recommend - not sure if the bringing food out as its ready would work if you are in a group on a weekend.

PS i love that it is open until 11pm every night!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Unpretentious good food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I like Wagamama. The food is consistently good - not outstanding but good- the service is again fine. I went for a spicy prawn dish that was - as promised - very spicy.

would definitely go again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrownLongEaredOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Brilliant fresh food, fresh vegetables and great taste from the south east asia. Hard to find elsewhere in Leeds

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Angelina440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Tasty, Hot, Beautiful gorgeous food and excellent service even when busy!!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I always get either the katsu curry or the Chicken chilli men and ALWAYS leave feeling happy!!
The food is sooo tasty and the menu is properly thought out, the price is average £10-12 but you know what it's worth it and they earn it. I would however recommend staying away from the mango chicken salad, that was around £10 and I hardly got any chicken or veg it was mainly salad leaves which I sent back - but the other curry based dishes are amazing!!!

Staff are friendly, knowledgeable, will change anything in the order to make you happy and attentive!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing