We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit, still great, if a bit noisy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zizzi - Leeds The Light

Zizzi - Leeds The Light
Ranked #1,263 of 1,790 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Smack dab in the heart of Leeds’ city centre leisure complex, one of our newer Zizzis stands ready to greet you. Our designers pulled inspiration from the city’s strong roots in the textile and wool industry. There are colourful Knitted wool stools that have been inspired by the city where the material originated. \we’ve even had a bespoke textile designed by Luke Trybula which forms the upholstery of the central seating feature. It’s certainly a restaurant that turns heads.
Leeds
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“2nd visit, still great, if a bit noisy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I think it's the industrial decor and popularity that make it so noisy - but it really is good, despite this!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Battymatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    118
    83
    68
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor, but not terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ok, despite reading quite a few negative reviews about this place. Me and my partner still came in to visit. Upon arrival, we could see that there was definitely a shortage of staffs, because we were only greeted by a staff behind the bar and his hands were full. But, OK, thats fine at least we were greeted with a smile.
Waiting staff rushed to us and took us to our table. OK. Ask for the drinks. Meal was ordered. Meal brought to our table in good time. So far so good. OK...
Here it comes. We finished our meal, and we were trying to find waiters to request for the bill. NO ONE WAS THERE TO SERVE US! They were doing nothing but chatting with themselves. Service has been not so good.
SO they finally got us the bill. Put money down. btw it was yet again another quiet day for them, leaving the restaurant, these guys r still talking themselves. doing nothing. Left the restaurant with NO good byes. Wish we didnt tip them.
Food at its best is average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Diferent twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I am chef in other restaurant of the same chain, but ive been in Leeds with My wife and i have to say that guy in the kitchen upgrade the food to another level, after dessert( chocolat melt)even My wife asked me, why we're not doing this presentation on Our Restaurant. ( damm it, i didnt take a photo) My compliments to the chef

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 773amandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Little disapointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had the Pizza Calzone Piquante, the dough was lovely and soft, it was not spicy enought for me and not what I would list as piquante, but the biggest disapointment was the lack of seasoning, it was a little bland and being a calzone, not the easiest dish to add seasoning too.£10.50

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldosmyhero
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“To busy to offer Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's a real shame that in this Zizzi, but the staff seem far to busy to offer any kind of customer service.

We waited 10 minutes to get cutlery for my main, we received the wrong dessert but no staff member came within 10 foot of our table after more or less throwing our desserts down on the table.

We had 3 courses and with each course there was a sizable wait until our cutlery made its way to the table. If it wasn't for the people at the table next to us, we would have waited longer than the 15 minutes we had already waited for our dessert cutlery. All this despite going up to a staff member to raise this matter.

It really is quite a shame since the food is actually really nice and quite good value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank aldosmyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Leeds The Light also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Leeds The Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing