We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere”

Zizzi - Leeds The Light
Ranked #593 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Smack dab in the heart of Leeds’ city centre leisure complex, one of our newer Zizzis stands ready to greet you. Our designers pulled inspiration from the city’s strong roots in the textile and wool industry. There are colourful Knitted wool stools that have been inspired by the city where the material originated. \we’ve even had a bespoke textile designed by Luke Trybula which forms the upholstery of the central seating feature. It’s certainly a restaurant that turns heads.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely location in The Light with some outside balcony seating overlooking the precinct below. As with All Zizzis there's a good selection of pastas, pizzas and calzones all cooked to a high standard.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfoster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    134
    91
    73
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful - even by a student's standard!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went here with 4 other's for a friends birthday. Waiter sat us down at a table and immediately walked off. 20 minutes later he returned to take our drinks orders , which took another 10 minutes to arrive. An hour after we arrived, he took our food orders, which took another 45 minutes to arrive. Waiter was incredibly rude when telling one of our party that something was not available, and he was repeatedly ignoring the male member of our group, whom had to keep prompting him to take his order. Note that the restaurant was considerably empty, but they were sending customers away. Our food arrived , some in the wrong order e.g mains before starters, and wasn't the nicest. I normally find Italian food quite salty, but this was incredibly bland, and I practically had to season it myself. The waiter eventually took our plates and we asked for the bill, but being incredibly rude, he just walked off, regardless of the fact a member of our party was holding out their NUS Card which would've gave us discount. The waiter eventually had to re-calculate the bill, but it still seemed overpriced, especially for the lousy service and poor food.

Never again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PippaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Everytime!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great place too eat, food is good and service is fantastic! Reasonable prices and good size portions.

Also a nice touch being able too watch the chefs cook as its an open kitchen.

Recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Always great food and service is always really friendly and efficient. Its a restaurant we keep going back to when ever we visit Leeds. Pizzas are great value for money and I always end up taking some away because can't eat it all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jones8011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch in Leeds.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went shopping in Leeds to explore the new Trinity shopping centre recently opened . At lunch time all the restaurants had long queues so we escaped to somewhere quieter where we could eat without a 30 minute wait. The Light in Leeds is excellent . Decided to give Zizzis a try as they offered a 1 course lunch menu for £7.95. The 2 Latte's we ordered before the meal looked good in trendy glass but were only Luke warm and quite a small measure.
The meal on the other hand was excellent - a spicy chicken and pasta mix ( Casa - something or other ). Large helping ,really tasty and good prompt and polite service. Will definitely eat there again and avoid Trinity Shopping Centre during school holidays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Leeds The Light also viewed

 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Leeds The Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing