We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good presentation”
Review of Chino Latino

Chino Latino
Reserve with OpenTable
Chino Latino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #544 of 1,928 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Leeds Train Station
Description: Welcome to Chino Latino Leeds Chino Latino, the award winning Pan-Asian Leeds City Square Restaurant is located at Park Plaza Leeds opposite Leeds Station. Our Pan-Asian food is served to share and dishes are brought steadily to the table creating an informal yet sophisticated style of eating and drinking - the best way to enjoy the taste sensation that is Chino Latino. Open for Lunch, Monday to Friday 12-2pm and Dinner Monday to Saturday 6-10pm, choose from our award winning sirloin steak on the hot rocks to our signature grilled scallops and freshly caught sushi and sashimi. View our menus here. Come and enjoy some of our unique cocktails, nibbles or a complete taste experience with our exquisite tasting menu
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff are attentive and the location convenient foe the bars and railway station.
The chicken in tempura batter was very nice but I was disappointed in the crispy duck pancakes,
it appeared to be one very small pancake cut into 4 slices, with a tiny bit of (tough) duck, cucumber, wrapped in sushi type rice and served cold with no sauce.
The main was much better chicken with fragrant rice curry sauce and tempura green beans that melted in the mouth.
The cheesecake couldnt be faulted either, so all in all a good meal (£20 set menu) I would just avoid the duck pancakes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosebudBridlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear rosebudBridlington

I see from your last visit you were able to take advantage of our 3 course set menu for £20 which is excellent value for money. The duck starter on the menu is a duck sushi roll however we do have duck with pancakes and hoi sin sauce on our a la carte menu for you to try on your next visit.

look forward to seeing you again soon.

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant decor is really nice and the staff are really welcoming. We had scallops and chicken as mains which were lovely. Beautifully presented. As often the case with these restaurants portions are small but the atmosphere is lovely and would be a great place to have dinner/drinks for a date or another special occasion.

Thank princessmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear princessmm

Many thanks for your kind comments on your recent visit to Chino Latino. I'm glad to see you enjoyed some of our classic dishes. We also have a set menu which is now available should you wish to visit us again.

look forward to seeing you again soon

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

the food here is pan-Asian and is superbly presented and served, and really of a high standard. The name Chino Latino certainly conjures up other images that what this restaurant is, coupled with a rather weird black and white image that shouts "Creole" at me as you enter. But really this is just great, mainly Japanese food. A hidden gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DjTrevUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear DjTrevUK

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent visit to Chino Latino. The name Chino is for the Pan Asian Restaurant and Latino is for our Latin based bar.

we now offer 2-4-£10 on our cocktails so please come and see us soon.

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have now eaten here a couple of times, once with a couple of friends and once with a large group of work colleagues, and have not been disappointed.
This is a new twist on Asian food and I was a little sceptically before I went but everything that I have eaten there is truly delicious. The sharing style menu offers the opportunity to sample various different meals and the Chino Latino "dictionary" is very helpful for novices like myself.
The service was impeccable and the décor is very modern and clean.
This is a must try restaurant in Leeds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jono295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear jono295

Great to see you in Chino Latino again. I will be passing on your comments to our dedicated team regarding your visit.

We hope to see you again soon.


Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Every dish served was superb, if you think you would never eat it, try it here and it will be brilliant.
Some of the best food in Leeds

Thank Rosyposy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Rosyposy54

Thank you for the encouraging comments on your last visit to Chino Latino. we have recently added some new dishes to our menu, please check out our new menu on our website.

we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Latino also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Chino Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing