We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY expensive, left hungry!”
Review of Chino Latino

Chino Latino
Reserve with OpenTable
Chino Latino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #392 of 1,838 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Leeds Train Station
Description: Welcome to Chino Latino Leeds Chino Latino, the award winning Pan-Asian Leeds City Square Restaurant is located at Park Plaza Leeds opposite Leeds Station. Our Pan-Asian food is served to share and dishes are brought steadily to the table creating an informal yet sophisticated style of eating and drinking - the best way to enjoy the taste sensation that is Chino Latino. Open for Lunch, Monday to Friday 12-2pm and Dinner Monday to Saturday 6-10pm, choose from our award winning sirloin steak on the hot rocks to our signature grilled scallops and freshly caught sushi and sashimi. View our menus here. Come and enjoy some of our unique cocktails, nibbles or a complete taste experience with our exquisite tasting menu
bolton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“VERY expensive, left hungry!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Ive been before and loved so much their jungle curry, really really delicious. this time i came with a couple of girlfriends, and we were advised by the waiter to try tapas style, so we thought why not...we did ask his advice on portion sizes and he said "depends if you are hungry ot not"..well £15.50 for some beyond bland ribs we didnt even finish gives you an idea... place was pretty dead for a sat night considering everywhere else was so busy, however i have to say the service was top notch, very attentive. we started off with cocktails at the bar and while my 2 friends were not impressed, mine was excellent (Dragonfly) and i told the bar man so.......anyway, back to the actual food, it all came out at once pretty much and although some was nice, the squid being one, delicious, the rest, very very meh....had better ribs at my local chinese, burnt sweet potato fries...very tasty but burnt..seriously? and chicken wings??? sorry, bones in sauce. i felt sad we came away 40pound each lighter and still hungry..such a shame as this place could be amazing...far far too pricey for what you get..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greecegirlBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear GreecegirlBolton

Thank you for your recent reponse to your visit to Chino Latino. I will indeed pass on your comments to our Head Chef regarding the food items that you didn't enjoy. We are always looking for ways to improve our products and value your comments in trying to do this.

I'm happy to see you enjoyed our cocktails, Why not visit us on a Friday evening where we offer 2 for 1 cocktails across our full cocktail menu.

Many thanks

Paulo Tocknell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    31
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WHAT HAPPENED”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I eat out 4 times a week I don't tend to review places unless it is really good or terribly bad and I'm sorry to say it's the latter, 4 males in there 20s we'll dressed on a Friday we were undecided if we wanted british cuisine or oriental cuisine we were heading for bar and grill which if you read my review I can't sing its praises highly enough, but as we passed chino Latinos I saw the Oliver reward and said let's try here we walked up the steps we were greeted with a smile our blazers were taken and we sat down it was a little dark looked a little seedy and tired in places plastic chairs not very luxurious but we persevere and ordered we looked over the menu ordered the crispy duck,chicken wings sweet potato chips and normal fries and ribs as a starter we also ordered a bottle of Moët rose and a few soft drinks so far so good no problems then came the wings what a joke theses must of been anorexic chickens because there wasn't a shred of meat on the bones so what we got was bones in sauce then the crispy duck I don't no how old it was certainly not fresh not crispy at all just spongy we all commented on that this was the first time that there was pancakes left since we've been eating out and the ribs were like chewing card board we drank our champagne made our excuses on why we won't order mains and left.
£150 wasted worst meal, honestly truly terrible. Went bar and grill for a great meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Reggie S

I'm disappointed to see that your experience at Chino was not a good one in terms of the food quality.

We only use the freshest produce in our kitchen and I'm sorry you feel the food wasn't up to standard on this occassion. We perform check backs on all our guests during their meal and indeed did with you on your visit but no negative feedback was given at the time. had this have happened we would have been able to try and rectify any issues which you had.

Please feel free to email me with any other comments you may have regarding your visit and how we may be able to improve for our future guests.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell

ptocknell@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Mostly good food, very average service, high prices, terrible sashimi”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Welcomed into the restaurant well, excellent menu, but small portions and fairly high prices for the standard of food. One of the dishes ordered was sashimi - raw sushi style fish, but the fish was of very poor quality, which cannot be excused when serving this sort of cuisine. However the rest of the food was to a good standard, although a tad overpriced. Service was okay but slow for the small amount of tables filled.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaxx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Jaxx18

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit. I'm disappointed to see you didn't like the quality of our Sushi.

We use only the freshest foods and ingredients in our dishes including our fish which is delivered on a daily basis.

Perhaps you would be able to give me more information on the food so I can pass this on to our head Chef

Many thanks
Paul Tocknell
ptocknell@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the park plaza for a work trip and ate here - restaurant is on 1st floor of hotel. Described as pan Asian, it really is great. Very good choice, great flavours. Looking forward to my next trip there

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevesharpe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear stevesharpe86

Many thanks for takingb the time to post your thoughts on your last visit to Chino.

Your kind comments will be passed on to our dedicated team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not huge portions but well cooked. Staff were lovely attentive but not over the top. Deco was fab and it felt a lot more up market once inside. Don't be put off by the rather tacky entrance!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fizz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
HI Fizz18

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent visit to Chino Latino and that our consistent service and standards were evident throughout your experience.

We are currently planning a revamp of our main entrance, please keep an eye out.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Latino also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Chino Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing