We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good food, very average service, high prices, terrible sashimi”
Review of Chino Latino

Chino Latino
Reserve with OpenTable
Chino Latino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #549 of 1,932 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Leeds Train Station
Description: Welcome to Chino Latino Leeds Chino Latino, the award winning Pan-Asian Leeds City Square Restaurant is located at Park Plaza Leeds opposite Leeds Station. Our Pan-Asian food is served to share and dishes are brought steadily to the table creating an informal yet sophisticated style of eating and drinking - the best way to enjoy the taste sensation that is Chino Latino. Open for Lunch, Monday to Friday 12-2pm and Dinner Monday to Saturday 6-10pm, choose from our award winning sirloin steak on the hot rocks to our signature grilled scallops and freshly caught sushi and sashimi. View our menus here. Come and enjoy some of our unique cocktails, nibbles or a complete taste experience with our exquisite tasting menu
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Welcomed into the restaurant well, excellent menu, but small portions and fairly high prices for the standard of food. One of the dishes ordered was sashimi - raw sushi style fish, but the fish was of very poor quality, which cannot be excused when serving this sort of cuisine. However the rest of the food was to a good standard, although a tad overpriced. Service was okay but slow for the small amount of tables filled.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaxx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Jaxx18

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit. I'm disappointed to see you didn't like the quality of our Sushi.

We use only the freshest foods and ingredients in our dishes including our fish which is delivered on a daily basis.

Perhaps you would be able to give me more information on the food so I can pass this on to our head Chef

Many thanks
Paul Tocknell
ptocknell@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 262 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed at the park plaza for a work trip and ate here - restaurant is on 1st floor of hotel. Described as pan Asian, it really is great. Very good choice, great flavours. Looking forward to my next trip there

Thank stevesharpe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear stevesharpe86

Many thanks for takingb the time to post your thoughts on your last visit to Chino.

Your kind comments will be passed on to our dedicated team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not huge portions but well cooked. Staff were lovely attentive but not over the top. Deco was fab and it felt a lot more up market once inside. Don't be put off by the rather tacky entrance!

Thank Fizz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

HI Fizz18

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent visit to Chino Latino and that our consistent service and standards were evident throughout your experience.

We are currently planning a revamp of our main entrance, please keep an eye out.

Many thanks

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent food that was served quickly with friendly and attentive staff. Felt the prices were a bit expensive for a hotel restaurant but worth it for the individuality of the food on offer.

Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Helen H

Thank you for your kind words regarding your last visit with us. I will pass on your comments to Steve and his team in the kitchen.

we look forward to seeing you again soon

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Service very good and helpful; excellent 'sirloin steak hot rocks'. Overall not expensive - though I'm not drinking this month! My colleague just had a g & t and was immediately offered a range of gins to choose from. Acknowledged we had limited time as my colleague had a plane to catch - and they were very accommodating.

Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chinoleeds, Manager at Chino Latino, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Jane P

Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant on your recent visit.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed the food and service and we were able to fit this in within your time constraints.

many thanks

Paul Tocknell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chino Latino also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Chino Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing