We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Families first visit to Japanese Rest'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wasabi Tepanyaki - CLOSED

Wasabi Tepanyaki
Price range: $6 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Holbeck
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Families first visit to Japanese Rest'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Not bad service excellent price affordable ambience great Chefs excellent and talented I've eaten Teppanyaki in many countries this is good but food needs improvement to catch up, otherwise it's a good one to start with.

Helpful?
1 Thank glennlevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grassington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An experience which is nice to try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our second visit but it did not live up to the first one we had several years ago. It is a spectacle even with the youngest chef there who tried his best to make entertainment out of potting eggshells. The menus do not seem to vary greatly so the experience of the cooking is the same whatever you choose. We found the food tasty but a bit greasy. The waitress is VERY quick to remove your plate which I didn't like. I can imagine that a large party out for a shared experience this would still be a good choice as indeed the noises on the other tables indicated. For a group of 4 like ours, it is not the place for conversation over dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“More entertainment than quality meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We were after something different and after reading previous reviews this fit the bill.
The staff were pleasant and took time to answer all our questions and explain the dishes. 7pm Wednesday they were not busy so I wonder if they would have been this accommodating on a busy Saturday.
We had the entertainment, a lot of spatula bashing, flaming work top, egg juggling and a sort of putting with the shell of an egg, it's all good!
The food itself was good but not exceptional and I can see why people say they were rushed. It's not that they rush you it's more the food is cooked quickly without a break between courses.
Cost for three people choosing starter main and dessert with drinks was £123. Was it good value, for the food alone, no, but with the entertainment to complement the experience ....mmmm probably!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_palatable_pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always great!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been going to this restaurant for 9 years and we always have a great time. The food is delicious, the staff are extremely attentive and friendly plus the cooking is very entertaining. This was the first we took the children as they are now old enough to appreciate it and they loved it too. Sadly the ladies don't wear the traditional dress anymore and children under 16 can't join in with hot plate fun because of health and safety but that's not the restaurants fault and they still do things with the children to make them feel part of it. Great time had anyway!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgins-Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Ate here early (18:00) on a Saturday night with our daughter and her boyfriend before driving home. Great service, good food but it is a very rushed experience

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Tepanyaki also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing