We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GO HERE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Quarter - Leeds - CLOSED

Spice Quarter - Leeds
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: Asian, Italian, Chinese, Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Chinese, Italian, Indian or Thai. Can���t decide? Then you need Spice Quarter in Leeds, home to the re-defined buffet. Bringing together favourites from all four countries, you can have a little of what you fancy from each. Featuring a salad counter, pizza and pasta station, masala dosa and kebab stations, a build-your-own stir fry, curry counter and even a chocolate fountain and dessert selection, you could go every day for a week and never eat the same thing twice. It���s great value for money, and perfect before a knees-up in Leeds. After you���ve filled up, stop by the Spice Bar and enjoy a relaxing drink on the candle-lit indoor terrace, complete with one of the shisha pipes on offer.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“GO HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been to the Spice Quarter for the first time tonight. Brilliant experience!!! Staff were so friendly, food was out of this world. No pressure to eat and get out. We booked at 7.30 and left at 10 full and very happy. Will def be going back again in the near future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miche808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    45
    26
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“delicious food for a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went here a couple of weeks ago with some friends on a very busy friday night. However, we were seated upon arrival 9pm, and could make a start with the buffet immediately. The variety is excellent, something to suit everyone. Food is cooked fresh and in front of you. I like it here because I am not very brave when it comes to trying something new, in case I don't like it. However, you can just put a small amount on your plate to try and leave it and get something else if it does not suit you. The currys are delicious, and lovely warm nan breads cooked especially for you. Desserts are really nice too. Usually, after a curry, I would not have anything. However, it is nice to be able to try some new food. I will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam_x_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Love the buffet set up and 'live chefs'. Excellent choice of food as well as amazingly tasty freshly cooked grill food including my favourites lamb chops, chicken tikka and massala dossa.
A must for lovers of spice!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dipesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a table for 5,30pm and were the 1st people in but within the next half hour the restaurant had begun to fill up nicely.
The choice & quality of food here is exceptional. Some of the food as in most buffets was pre cooked but you also have the choice of selecting your own ingredients for stir fry and pizzas. Nan breads and chapatis to accompany a wide selection of curries are baked fresh whilst you wait.
The staff also deserve a special mention, they are brilliant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gone downhill since opening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

When this place first opened it was a high quality 'live' buffet serving a large range of Indian, Thai and Chines food along with quality pizzas , salads and lots of other world foods. Sadly, it has gone downhill a lot recently. Nowadays, it is really just like an Indian buffet, with a few other bits and pieces thrown in for variety. The pizzas are only average quality, the salad selection is poor. The selection of deserts is also poor. The Chinese and Thai element has now almost disappeared and been replaced with an awful Tex/Mex grill which isn't worth bothering with.

On the positive side, the Indian food is actually quite good. The naans (cooked to order) are excellent, and there is a wide election of Indian main courses - including 3 good quality vegetarian options on the day we visited. We went in the evening and the prices were way to high. However, we noticed that everyone seemed to have money-off vouchers printed from the internet, and there is also a good student discount. The lunchtime prices were a lot cheaper but we are not sure if the selection is as good at lunchtimes (??)

Overall, I would recommend this place for a cheaper lunchtime meal - but only if you like Indian food. Apart from the Indian selection, everything else is disappointing and over-priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeedsRonnieRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Quarter - Leeds also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing