We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dinner with friends in our favourite restaurant”
Review of Viva Cuba

Viva Cuba
Ranked #43 of 1,828 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely dinner with friends in our favourite restaurant”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I met some old friends at viva cuba last Wednesday night (11th june), they had never been before and wanted to try it. We started with cocktails in the upstairs bar which were all great and then ate in the private dining room. We ordered a good selection of tapas and the food arrived within 10 minutes. All the dishes were fantastic and you can tell that it has been freshly prepared (unlike other tapas bars). Despite being in a separate room the service was fast and friendly and we could still feel the atmosphere from the main restaurant. We all came with children and the room was great for letting them run around without disturbing other diners. We finished our meal with nice coffees, deserts and ice cream for children. Our friends absolutely loved it and will be coming back. As for us, we have already booked a baby sitter and have planned for a romantic dinner in our favourite restaurant Viva cuba!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    114
    37
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Latin atmosphere .... So nice place and good food !”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

It was our first dinner to Viva Cuba, it was like being in a colonial house , so warm colour all around with Cuban music in the background ! There is a large choice of tapas 30ish : vegs , chicken , lamb and fish .Very tasty, very good qualities of the food, also the prices are reasonable!
It' s a simply way to feel in a trip of South America!
Sorry but we had a very bad Espresso :-(

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just gets better”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We have become regulars at Viva Cuba over the years. Our one and only complaint is that it gets so busy that we can't get a table ! Buts it's worth the wait upstairs enjoying a cold beer.
The staff are superb and the food to die for. The atmosphere is always buzzing.
Not much more to be said except enjoy your visit as much as we always do.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinHalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely vibe and feel.. Food is good too”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I've been to viva Cuba numerous times and every time its been busy and I've had to wait a while to be seated but its well worth the wait.. Favourite dishes are the meat balls, chorizo and paella. The portion sizes are much more generous than la tasca with loads more flavour. Pricewise its quite reasonable.. Worth a trip down kirkstall road!!!

Helpful?
Thank Kasem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Potatas Bravas, Chorizo etc.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I've not been to Viva Cuba since they messed around with the bar area years ago. But I felt the need for tapas, so decided to give Viva Cuba another shot.

The food was a mixed bag: some dishes were really good (the lamb stew and lamb skewer were excellent); some dishes were a bit bland (the nachos and stuffed jalapeños were dull); and one dish was a bit rubbish (the calamari was rubbery and unpleasant).

The service was good, with fast turnaround on drinks orders and no messing about. We did receive a dish we didn't order, but since it wasn't on the bill we didn't mention it. I assume it was intended for another table, so hopefully the people that did order it got a replacement (that was one of the really nice dishes too!).

There are several tapas restaurants in Leeds, and they're all much the same. They all have similar menus and are similarly priced. I'm just as likely to return to Viva Cuba as go to any of the others. It seems a shame that Viva Cuba doesn't capitalise on the Cuban theme and offer some more Cuba-specific dishes, rather than the usual tapas fair (potatas bravas, chorizo etc.).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Cuba also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Viva Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing