We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of El Bareto

El Bareto
Ranked #141 of 1,856 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tapas from my Grannies Recipes in a hand built bar and restaurant we made ourselves. We like to think we have brought a little bit of Spain, a traditional taverna, with us to Leeds. With Live acoustic music every Tuesday in our cosy downstairs restaurant, and music through out the week. Pablo and Yeyo offer as authentic Tapas as it is possible to find in a unique little restaurant. You can relax in the bar after a hard days work, or maybe outside and enjoy a glass of specially selected Spanish wine.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lived in Chapel Allerton for three years now and finally got around to going to El Bareto! The bar area upstairs is great and the Spanish beers are very well kept. We had a great pint of Mahou, but there are other choices.

We very much enjoyed the tapas in the restaurant and the whole evening was very good value.

If you want a seat in the bar; would probably recommend you get there early - especially later in the week when Chapel A gets busier. Very much a touch of Spain in North Leeds!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    74
    22
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing. Can't visit enough!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Authentic place with amazing live music. Walking into the place reminds you of walking into a Spanish taverna.

A few of the reviews say that the place is dingy as you go downstairs to eat. But I would disagree. The best tapas restaurant I've been to in Spain had no sign, just an old wooden door leading to a small basement with the most amazing food. And the food at El Bareto tops that. Hands down.

The service has always been impeccable. The staff and owners are the most accommodating, generous and just the most lovely group of people you could wish to meet!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely restaurant,bar and clientele . Shame it's not a little larger Get there early doors if you want a seat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitten001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A truly Spanish experience”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

When you enter El Bareto you feel you are immediately on holiday in Spain. The atmosphere, wonderful food and friendly staff leave you in no doubt you are in for a treat. Also the price of the meal is 'friendly' and the quality is beyond question. If you have not been yet do make sure it soon goes in to your diary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithMrYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“decent meal, but tweaks needed”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Having had a good meal out here previously we returned for a random mid-week night out. The place feels really intimate and cosy which makes for a perfect place to go as a couple, however the food wasn't as great as we remembered since our last visit. We ordered 6 dishes and 4 of then being battered in some shape or form. The Calamari was completely overcooked within an inch of becoming a rubber band and everything else that was battered was done in the same really heavy and greasy batter mixture. The grease overwhelmed the whole meal and the tastebuds, and I left the restaurant actually feeling sick, and needing a walk which is never a good sign. Praise to the chef however for the cumin and paprika chicken special dish as this was divine.

I think overall, the food here is of a good quality, and its a decent restaurant, its just the batter technique they use (which does feature in a lot of dishes) overwhelms the food, and for such a simple change (i.e. a lighter batter) they could improve the food exponentially.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycamper554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bareto also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to El Bareto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing