We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and delicious food.”
Review of Maxi's Restaurant

Maxi's Restaurant
Ranked #875 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and delicious food.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Visited Maxi's on Thursday evening and for a Thursday it was relatively busy. The staff were very attentive and our orders were taken quickly. The food was incredible and I could not fault it. I will defiantly be back and I have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    82
    51
    21
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“China in Leeds!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Second time at Maxi’s. the first time was last summer at lunch for dim sum (which we enjoyed quite a lot), now we tried it for dinner. Was a quite busy Saturday night, but we were seated in few minutes. The place is a typical Chinese restaurant, overloaded with Chinese decorations (even more now in Xmas season). We had Salt & Pepper mushrooms – simply delicious! And shredded duck soup, quite more delicate respect to the mushrooms.

As main dish, I had roast duck & Char Siu, while my wife ordered deep fried squid. The duck was good, although a bit on the fat side, the squid was excellent, fried very well, and a very good match with the sweet and sour sauce it was served with. All of it along with crispy noodles, never tried before, and very different from the regular noodles. The dishes are a bit on the expensive side, compared to other Chinese establishments, but portion are simply huge.

Service was good, but at the end, when we got the bill, the waiter told us insistently that the service was not included. Hey, I am a foreigner, but can perfectly read on the bill that service is not included, and tip accordingly. That was the only hiccup of a very good dinner, closed with a very appreciated gift, their 2014 calendar; Maxi’s is a very recommendable place, and will call back in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Achille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“First visit, and the start of many!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked in here on Saturday evening for the first time, and it was outstanding.

The food was great, but what really made it was the service. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble.

On the way out we were even treated to a Maxis Chinese calendar!

Will definetly visit again (oh and the food was superb!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keckwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good value and tasty”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Visited Maxi's on numerous occasions and always happy with the service and the meals. The restaurant decor is wonderful. The staff are always efficient and friendly. A pleasure to visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful...”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fantastic food, friendly staff and the opulent decor is beautiful.From the moment you step through the door, you'll find yourself just taking in this explosion of colour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxi's Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Maxi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing