We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - but.....”
Review of Fuji Hiro

Fuji Hiro
Ranked #231 of 1,857 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Quarry Hill
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food - but.....”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had a meal here before a concert at Leeds Arena. It couldn't be better located for a pre-concert meal. Literally round the corner. Couldn't fault the food although we found the menu choice limited compared to other similar restaurants. The price was reasonable at £43 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 beers and a wine. The only thing which let it down for us was the lack of ambience. The decor is very plain with canteen type furniture and it was incredibly noisy. To be expected at 6.30 in Leeds I suppose! So go for the food not the surroundings. Not the place for a romantic meal - but it was packed out with mainly students who clearly know where to get good food at a reasonable price. So I would recommend this place - but we have tried other Japanese restaurants in Leeds which may cost slightly more - but do have more atmosphere and you don't feel as rushed by people queuing at the side of your table! A touch off putting when eating your meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BethDLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    68
    35
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've been going to Fuji hiro for years now,has since had abit of a refurb which has brightened the place up (not that I was bothered) the food is amazing I have never been disappointed here,I recommend you give it a go!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, yum yum ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Not much to say really, but this place is probably one of the best restaurants in leeds when it comes to food quality.

Helpful?
Thank trickydickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic, delicious Japanese food”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went to this place regularly when I lived in Leeds. The staff made me feel at home and the service was great, and I loved a whole range of the noodle dishes on the menu.
Miss this little place tucked away by the bus stop!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleMacnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of Japan...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

..to brighten up a dreary part of Leeds city centre. I'm not sure why this is only the second time in 10 years I've been here, maybe because it's so out of the way but with noodles, miso soup and tempura prawns to die for this time I won't be leaving it so long.
Ignore the reviews about out of date decor (the place is clean) because after all aren't restaurants all about the food, not the wallpaper.

Helpful?
Thank Salex29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Hiro also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Fuji Hiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing