We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Little Tokyo

Little Tokyo
Ranked #247 of 1,829 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $42
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The mixed starter was okay, mostly deep fried. The bento box with beef tepenyaki was lovely. The salad dressing lush, dipping soy sauce great. The vegetable tempura was nice but I just couldn't face it after the fried starter. The beef wasn't chewy but was a little cold on arrival. Overall a nice experience.
The surroundings were lovely with the water feature containing fishies! Staff weren't very friendly and didn't even manage to say thankyou or bye after paying the bill and leaving the restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Mar2013w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    214
    100
    59
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A favourite of ours”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've never had a bad experience here, between us we have tried at least 90% of the menu over dozens of visits in the past 6-7 years. We've eaten here for Birthdays, Anniversarys and just for pay day treats.

Everything always tastes fresh, the service is always good (a little bit slow on the weekends, but you can't complain as the restaurant is always packed out.) and the drinks are lovely!

I'd thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikiki_5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still able to please!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Little Tokyo and I go way back. We’re old and firm friends and I have spent many an enjoyable evening in here with friends, significant others and colleagues. I have been there when it was nothing but a tiny restaurant crammed with tables, been impressed when they expanded next door and got a pool for the fish complete with a bridge and amazed when downstairs was opened up complete with floor level tables.

I order the same food pretty much every time I come here and I never fail to enjoy it. This visit was no exception. I shared the Gyoza and the Dim Sum Sui Mai with my friends and had the Vegan Chicken Terikayi Bento Box (my other choices are Prawn Crystal Dumplings or Vegetarian Chicken Legs for starter and Saba Teriyaki Bento or Yaki Udon for main).

The Gyoza are the best anywhere. Giant, meaty, juicy and full of flavour – careful though they are hot! And the Sui Mai are wonderful and fragrant with a most delicious chilli sauce.
The Vegan Chicken Teriyaki Box set was just what I expected. A generous portion of salad – with a salad dressing I could drink (and they sell it by the bottle), Vegetable Tempura which is light and crisp (although I don’t like the broccoli) and goes perfectly with the soy sauce, a good helping of the ‘chicken’ and a delicious sauce – I can’t describe the flavour but it is one I love and come back to time and time again. And rice, nothing special about the rice, it’s just rice.

I couldn’t eat it all – but my friends helped me out!!

It came to a very reasonable £25 a head for a starter and a main course and a large glass of wine.

Little Tokyo has been a favourite of mine for the best part of 14 years. It’s starting to look a little tired, but then I too have aged. And with the best of friends you don’t love them any less for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AyAitchAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
170 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not my kind of food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Maybe I shouldn't be writing this review as Japanese food is really not for me.We went there as a family to celebrate a birthday and were seated downstairs.The table and seats were very low,and I found them very difficult,both getting in and getting out.I had a starter of vegetable spring rolls with a very nice dipping sauce,but my Bento box of fried king prawns was a disappointment,and i left most of it.I couldn't work out what most of the items were even after tasting.The salad was spoiled for me because it was soggy with dressing,which was a shame as it looked lovely.This was my second Japanese meal,but i'm afraid it will be my last.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambchopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't go again”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went last night .service was poor . I sent the chicken curry back because it was saturated with so much salt no one on our table could eat it , I was told that's how it is like it or lump it . Don't recomend anyone to go here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Tokyo also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing