We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar 166 & Bistro

Bar 166 & Bistro
Ranked #151 of 1,805 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Bar, British, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar 166 opened in Horsforth in December 2004 as a first time project for Matthew Jones, answering the prayers of Horsforth residents in dire need of an upmarket, multi-purpose venue to eat and drink in.The food is fantastic in its simplicity, offering luscious British meals, all at very affordable prices. The evening bistro menu is priced at £5.50 for starters and main courses start at £11, a bargain considering the quality and freshness.The bar is lively and welcoming with an exceptional drinks array. On a weekend the bar plays a wide range of funky, soulful music, culminating in an electric atmosphere.Food served 7 days:Monday to Friday, 12-3pm and 5.30pm-close. Saturdays and Sundays, all day from 12pm.Bar open all day from 12pm, 7 days a week.
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really impressed”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Guaranteed a great meal at 166. Been here a few times, they had an offer of two courses plus a glass of wine for £15 in January so my girlfriend and I went again on the 31st. Wine was nice and the meal was spot on, great value and no scrimping on the quality or portion sizes for people taking advantage of the offer they had on. Would have happily paid full price, will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    111
    33
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent meal again”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have been twice before and received excellent food and service and was not disappointed when we went back a third time. We booked a £15 meal deal, starter main and drink and food was fab, cooked perfectly. Will be booking to go back again soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“18th Birthday Meal ”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening at 'Bar 166' to celebrate out daughter Grace's 18th Birthday . We started with cocktails in the bar which were fab ! ... The meal was wonderful steaks and burgers all cooked perfectly and good sized portions ! ... Even made a special desert for Grace . We have been as a couple and the steaks were just as good then . It's such a nice place friendly staff without being 'too much' good atmosphere and great value for money . Like it so much we've booked for valentines ! Looking forward to it already :))

Helpful?
Thank Middletons63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious food, friendly service”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've eaten at Bar 166 on several occasions now, and have always been impressed with the quality of food and the service provided. The staff are lovely, and couldn't be more welcoming- even when we turn up with our double-buggy and young daughters.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“christmas day”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

we always enjoy bar 166 and bistro so decided to book Christmas day lunch.
we were not disappointed. the food, atmosphere and staff were excellent.
we were so impressed that we booked for xmas 2014 before leaving the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madwife465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar 166 & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bar 166 & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing