We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar 166 & Bistro

Bar 166 & Bistro
Ranked #175 of 1,791 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Bar, British, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar 166 opened in Horsforth in December 2004 as a first time project for Matthew Jones, answering the prayers of Horsforth residents in dire need of an upmarket, multi-purpose venue to eat and drink in.The food is fantastic in its simplicity, offering luscious British meals, all at very affordable prices. The evening bistro menu is priced at £5.50 for starters and main courses start at £11, a bargain considering the quality and freshness.The bar is lively and welcoming with an exceptional drinks array. On a weekend the bar plays a wide range of funky, soulful music, culminating in an electric atmosphere.Food served 7 days:Monday to Friday, 12-3pm and 5.30pm-close. Saturdays and Sundays, all day from 12pm.Bar open all day from 12pm, 7 days a week.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visiting our daughter who lives just outside Leeds and found this place through tripadvisor and four of us went for Sunday Lunch. We arrived at 1pm and we were worried because there were only another two tables taken, this very quickly changed and it was soon very busy, which is not surprising as the food was very good indeed, my only criticism is I had the beef and I would prefer to put my own gravy on my meal as there was too much for me but next time I would request this. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    106
    32
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch, cannot rate highly enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arranged to hire the function room at Bar 166 for a "Welcome to the World" party for our son. It was a little bit of a risk as we'd never eaten there, but we wanted somewhere local and after looking round and meeting the manager, John, we felt it was worth it. We were not disappointed!! John was helpful and friendly in the weeks running up to the party (I like to be organised and I'm sure I didn't need to be so organised ahead of time!), and when we arrived the room had been set-up with enough tables for a few people to sit, while still providing ample room for most to stand and for the food. We were expecting some young children and the restaurant had really kindly provided colouring books, activity sheets and pens, and even extras when we later asked for them.

The buffet was absolutely fantastic and the restaurant even catered specifically for two of our guests who needed gluten free meals. We had requested a dairy- and egg-free meal which hadn't been catered for by accident, but this was more than made up for by the fantastic roast dinner which was provided instead and very much enjoyed by my sister-in-law! It's fair to say there was plenty of food available; some of our guests were real eaters and we still had plenty leftover! Delicious ice cream was served for dessert (sorbet for the gluten- and dairy-free people), again in great quantities.

We had booked the room until 5.30pm but most of our guests had left by 5ish, so the remaining few of us enjoyed a nice coffee before leaving for home.

All in all, we had a fantastic afternoon that was just what we wanted. I would recommend Bar 166 to anyone looking to hold a function - the staff were friendly and helpful, John the manager's organisation was great and the food and drink was to a really high quality. Thank you so much!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dandeinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Pleasant atmosphere, limited menu and food of good quality but perhaps a little overpriced. Having said that, it's worth a second visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UKVocalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round a fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went in for Sunday lunch yesterday. The food was amazing, veg wasn't overcooked, roast potatoes were crispy, beef was tender and pink - not to everyone's liking but the waitresses took it back to cook slightly longer for those who preferred it more well done.

Waiting staff were pleasant and helpful. Great value to boot - I highly recommend it :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dible33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First and definatly not our last visit !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely evening steaks superb would recomend and we will definatly return . Staff friendly and dealt with an over loud party v well :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Middletons63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar 166 & Bistro also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Horsforth, Leeds
 

Been to Bar 166 & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing