We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tapas I have ever had”
Review of Sandinista! Cantina Bar - CLOSED

Sandinista! Cantina Bar
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Inspired by a love for music, food, drinks and Latin culture with the maxim ‘nuestra casa es tu casa’ – our home is your home.And as the Eagles sang...“you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave” MusicMusic is our passion and Joe Strummer is at our heart. The Clash inspired us to name our bar after their 4th album ‘Sandinista’. We play an eclectic mix that covers rock, indie, funk, soul, reggae, 80’s and more. Central American CultureSandinista!s revolutionary theme is influenced by the political movement in Nicaragua - The Sandinista National Liberation Front . They liberated Nicaragua with an oppressive right-wing regime in 1979 to 1990. The Central American influence is carried throughout the Latin inspired food and drink menu as well as the décor. Rock ‘n’ Roll and Food For the Soul“It’s more fun to eat in a bar then drink in a restaurant”Our menu focuses on simplicity and sharing. Choose from ‘Pots, Pans or Cans’... or sharing boards. Prepared using only the freshest ingredients, our dishes embody Sandinista’s Latin inspired food ethos. Simple great tasting cuising that reflects the culture it was born out of.Drinks (open every day till 3am)Why did the Mexican push his wife off the cliff? Tequila!!!! Sandinista!'s impressively stocked bar offers an impressive range of cocktails from the four corners of the globe, our top sellers being fruity, tangy twists on Mojitos, Daiquiris, Mai Tais, Margaritas and Juleps. Our back bar boasts an array of quality tequilas, rums and spirits with a fine selection of craft beers.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best tapas I have ever had”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After recently having a disappointing tapas meal elsewhere, I was very anxious about visiting Sandinista... and i was very pleasantly surprised! Gorgeous tapas, too much to choose from, very authentic furnishing and a lovely atmosphere! I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luveatnsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista! Cantina Bar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
luveatnsleep,
Thanks for your lovely comments,
I'm glad you enjoyed our tapas after a disappointing experience elsewhere. We are very proud of our full Spanish kitchen team!
Let me know when you are coming back (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) & I'll get you a beer on us!
Thanks,
Katy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    13
    6
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a pre theatre dinner last week at Sandinista. Lovely food, attentive staff and 20% discount because were going to the theatre. If you are going to the Grand Theatre then think about this Tapas bar you won't be disappointed, will be definitely going back, thanks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista! Cantina Bar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Gerry L,
Thanks for your lovely comments,
I'm glad you enjoyed our pre-theatre deal! and I hope you enjoyed your trip to the theatre!
Let me know when you are coming back (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) & I'll get you a beer on us!
Thanks,
Katy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great pre- theatre food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place is perfect for a quick drink and bite to eat before the theatre and there's a 20% discount for anybody going to any gig as well! My daughter and I had arranged to meet friends there and were greeted by friendly and efficient service. We snacked on the delicious olives and bread until the others arrived and then thoroughly enjoyed the array of meat, fish and veggie tapas before steeping across the road to the Grand. Perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista! Cantina Bar, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi WalkwiththeDog ,
Thanks for your lovely comments,
I'm glad you enjoyed our pre-theatre deal! and I hope you enjoyed your trip to the theatre!
We are so excited about our new menu so it's great to hear such positive feedback.
You obviously know your Spanish tapas! And we are very proud of our full Spanish kitchen team.
Let me know when you are coming back (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) & I'll get you a beer on us!
Thanks,
Katy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“poor”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

been to many tapas bars and restaurants and this for poor service and quality of food was by far the worst tapas in leeds .advertises has a spanish bar but plays heavy rock music sorry very very disapointed thats why i am writing this!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martack51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista! Cantina Bar, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi martack51,
Thanks for taking the time to write your feedback.
I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience at Sandinista!
We take all feedback very seriously. I'd really like to discuss this further so that I can resolve any issues. I'd also love to invite you back & I hope that you have a much better experience.
I shall update our Trip Advisor profile now to include our music policy. This is all on our website, but thank you for flagging this as it isn't clearly stated on our profile here, just on one of the photographs.
As I say, I'd really appreciate it if your got in touch with me to discuss this further (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk)
Many thanks,
Katy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Brilliant start for a 'neet a' culture”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Renewed faith in UK tapas; yes there was patatas bravas and yes gambas but you can also have the wild mushrooms, rabbit, wonderfully fatty bits of pork on lentils, white beans, chick peas; dishes put up as dish of the day that could conceivably have been cooked fresh rather than defrosted on the way back from Costco! They all tasted different but were all of high quality. Good advice from the helpful staff on quantities and the 20% off with valid theatre ticket all contributed to a splendid meal. The adjacent car park is free after 6 p.m., but I would recommend booking for 5.30, paying for half an hour and chill until typical curtains up at 7.30- it's a plan I For couples try ordering two dishes at a time with a 10 minute gap- possibly keeps the food hot?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista! Cantina Bar, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Mike L,
Thanks for your lovely comments,
I'm glad you enjoyed our pre-theatre deal! and I hope you enjoyed your trip to the theatre!
We are so excited about our new menu so it's great to hear such positive feedback.
You obviously know your Spanish tapas! And we are very proud of our full Spanish kitchen team.
Let me know when you are coming back (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) & I'll get you a beer on us!
Thanks,
Katy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandinista! Cantina Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing