We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, superb atmosphere, great service!”
Review of Chaophraya Leeds

Chaophraya Leeds
Ranked #58 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $73
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chaophraya (pronounced Chao-phra-yaa) offers the ultimate Thai fine dining experience. Named after the Chao Phraya River, Thailand’s main waterway, diners are taken on a journey; tasting fresh ingredients, flavours and cooking methods typical of each of its unique regions.Once reopened on 19th October Chaophraya will provide the ultimate Thai bar and restaurant experience in Leeds, we will present a fusion of delicious cuisine with a luxurious bar and fantastic atmosphereChaophraya will offer extensive lunchtime and à la carte menus as well as signature dishes created by our expert chefs, along with free Wi-Fi and delicious coffees, guests can enjoy a lunchtime pit stop, relaxing in the comfy surroundings. Thai tapas will be served from midday everyday and a Sunday Champagne Brunch will be available for those in search of a little luxury. Come evening time, the new bar will offer a refreshing array of drinks from Thailand and beyond. Wines, spirits and liquors have all been expertly selected as well as Chaophraya’s brand new signature beer, Yom.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food, superb atmosphere, great service!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

As always Chaophraya never fails to disappoint! The flavours are amazing, the service first rate! Highlights were the mussels my friend enjoyed as an appetiser, so much flavour and the massaman curry enjoyed by another friend for main.
Portion sizes are very generous and the staff very attentive. The appetiser platter was good, just the beef a little bland on this occasion which is not like them. All mains were exceptional quality. The only other slight piece of feedback is we were sat by the toilets so not the ideal table, I prefer upstairs, however I understand they have enormous demand for places and are very busy. A little rushed to finish at the end, again a Saturday night and understandable. Have been here numerous occasions and will continue to go back, the atmosphere is always good. Whilst not my best visit to Chaophraya it was still a very good night and dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey M, Public Relations Manager at Chaophraya Leeds, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello

Thank you for your kind feedback, it is great to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and food at Chaophraya on a Saturday evening. We will always try our hardest to meet guests special requests and requirements at all times.

Thanks

Lynsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    537
    196
    93
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Had such a fantastic night.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Booked in a few weeks ago to the Chaophraya Leeds 7th March as six of us. Courtesy call on the day, which was good. Welcome on arrival very warm, girls on Cocktails, guys had a couple of beers in Palm Sugar first, then up for the meal. Total bill came to £300 all had starters, mains with 3 bottles of wine, single espresso and baileys! The food was exceptional, service amazing on a very busy night, looking forward to eating there again. Steve & Kat in Flockton.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ByLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey M, Public Relations Manager at Chaophraya Leeds, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Good Morning Steve & Kat,

We would like to take the time to thank you for your recent feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive such lovely compliments to share with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chaophraya and Palm Sugar lounge whether it be for dinner or just drinks.

Kind Regards

The Chaophraya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Go for lunch”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went for lunch on wednesday. Fantastic service, food to die for. top notch 10/10
2 course £8.95
Will be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenJohnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey M, Public Relations Manager at Chaophraya Leeds, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good Morning,

We would like to that this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback. The lunch menu runs every day 12- 4:30pm. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chaophraya Leeds in the future.

Kind Regards

Lynsey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

A very busy Saturday night. Had reserved on line for 8.15 and we where seared 8.45. Not a problem as the palm sugar lounge is a pleasant place to wait. Fantastic cocktails here. We did wait 20 minutes and had to request a drinks order was taken when we where seated in the restaurant. When the food came it was well worth it though. Weeping tiger steak-amazing. Curried lamb shank that my partner had was awesome too. We shall return. How they manage to keep the good such high quality when there are so many covers is fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Nickysells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorne, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious lunchtime menu”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

If your a fan of Thai food, then this is definitely the place for you! Chaophraya in a word is excellent! The service here is great, with friendly staff. The food is of a really high standard, full of great flavour. The Lunch menu is so cheap that you don't really have a reason not to give this place a try?

For £8.95 you get a starter and a main course which is amazing value for money. Plus you get to dine a beautiful restaurant!

A Leeds favourite!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Leeds also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Chaophraya Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing