We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Sous le Nez en Ville
Reserve with OpenTable
Sous le Nez en Ville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,962 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We ate there as a group of six and we arrived ten minutes later than the booking. This was not a problem and we were seated very quickly. There is a special 3 course menu with half a bottle of win if eaten between 5.30 and 7 p.m. This was the option chosen and there was plenty of selection. Portions are very generous and tasty. Service was good and very friendly. It is a very popular venue so booking is probably essential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hello and thank you for the review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our early bird menu and really hope we will be welcoming you back into Sous Le Nez sooner rather than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 618 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

I went here with friends on a Thursday evening. It was really busy but the service was really good! The waiters/waitresses were all really friendly and polite. We all had 3 courses and half a bottle of wine on their set menu, which was really good value for money. The food wasn't the best food I've ever tasted but I couldn't fault it nevertheless!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melb611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hello and thank you for the review. We are really pleased you thought our early bird menu was good value for money and found our staff friendly and polite- we will be sure to tell them. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Ate here last Saturday night with friends. The noise from entering the restaurant until leaving was intolerable. It was difficult to communicate with the waiters and impossible to have a conversation with our friends.The food wasn't bad, but certainly not outstanding. We felt throughout that the restaurant wanted to see tables vacated to make room for the many waiting guests and we were only too happy to oblige after two courses. Maybe Saturday was a bad choice but we won't be returning in a hurry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JohnWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hello and thank you for taking time to write us a review. We can only apologies for the noise, but on some evenings we do experience high noise levels due to the amount of parties booked in. We do advise customers at the time of booking that we require the table back at designated time, however we do not intentionally rush any customers so we must apologise if you felt this way. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Last month we had our post wedding meal for 18 in the private room. We were so well looked after by everyone. We had the excellent early bird menu which was excellent.
They were very helpful setting up screens for slide show and dealing with the cake, making the room nice and then helping the event special.
Even when one of the waiters made a small mistake the Maître de sorted the issue without question or fuss.
Thanks for looking after us we will come back again to remember this special day that you helped us enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stevetighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. Firstly we would just like to congratulate you once again! We are delighted you had such a good evening with us and are very pleased to have been a part of it.
We hopefully will be able to welcome you in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

4 star expectations due to some ratings, 3 star experience.

As the last diners on the early bird we were sat in a tiny corridor next to the kitchen door, ignored most of the night & fed average food with microwaved sides.

Would need a very good review of the regular menu from a trusted friend to consider going again.

Kendals next time.

Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hello. We are very sorry to hear you didn’t have a good experience with us. The table you were sat on is a normal table which is part of the restaurant, albeit next to our kitchen. In future, if you are unhappy please do notify a member of staff and we will do our best to accommodate your request. On Saturday evenings due to high demands we are very busy, but we’re sorry if you felt ignored. If you do decide to give us another try when you book please let us know if you have a preference and we will do our best to accommodate you. All of our food is cooked freshly and this includes the sides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sous le Nez en Ville also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sous le Nez en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing