We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Sous le Nez en Ville
Ranked #43 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I dined in Souz Le Nez about 4 years ago and had one of the best dining experiences ever. The tempura prawns were the best I had ever tasted. On this visit I was a little apprehensive that my expectations after 4 years might be a little optimistic... However that was not the case the tempura batter just melted in your mouth and the prawns were cooked to perfection. My main course of fish was equally as good. My partner thoroughly enjoyed his starter of paella and main dish salmon. The service was excellent. It definitely is a gem hidden away in the basement!! Recommend this resturant to anyone visiting Leeds!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on maintaining a consistent high standard and are delighted to hear you had an equally good meal four years from your initial visit.
Thank you again for such kind comments on our service and we hope to welcome you back in soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    226
    67
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impeccable food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Four of us had two courses each and one bottle of wine. Each of the eight dishes was cooked perfectly, really very impressive. A slight mix-up over the wine ordered was handled with grace. A very reliable place to take visitors from out of town. We'll be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dizzybugspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking time write us a review. We are delighted to hear all of the dishes went down well. Apologies once again for the wine, we are pleased you felt we dealt with the mix up efficiently. We hopefully can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

First visit. The tomato soup was excellent and the venison was spot on. Ambiance was ok and is probably better when fuller. Service just slightly too slow and not as warm as I would have expected. Hope it is better when busier. Overall good and would return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our food and can only apologies for the service being a little slow. You caught us on a rare day as we are usually very busy with quick service! Hopefully you will agree if you do decide to pay us another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Their is no surprise that this is one of the oldest restaurants in Leeds. I have never had anything but a wonderful meal at Souz Le Nez over many years. I will no doubt be back soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VIBRANT FRENCH BISTRO / RESTAURANT”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Good consistant menu we have never had a bad meal in all the 20 years of dining. Good early bird blackboard menu of three courses and a half bottle of red or white per person. The staff are friendly, attentive, efficient and give a good service. A good night always guaranteed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patbinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello and thank you for the review. It’s brilliant hearing from our longstanding customers and we’re so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our food for 20 years. We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sous le Nez en Ville also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sous le Nez en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing