We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Frnch restaurant - would recommend!”

Sous le Nez en Ville
Reserve with OpenTable
Sous le Nez en Ville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 1,974 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Even though I don't think we came across one 'french' waiter, the food was amazing and the service excellent - amongst one the best restaurants I have ever been to. Would thoroughly recommend!!

Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your taking the time out to review Sous le Nez.
We are so glad you found the food enjoyable and the service excellent. We hope we can welcome you back soon and hopefully one of our five French staff will come and say hello!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 659 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Been several times to Sous le Nez so wouldn't be going back if we didn't rate it - BUT we won't be rushing back unless a few changes are now made. It's always had a 'traditional' feel about the place and in some ways typically French in its décor, and not the shiny marble minimalistic décor that so many Italians now have. However, even that is starting to look tired, and when we visited the loos they certainly were not the most hygienic we've been in. Service was good, polite and efficient. The food was good and again presented timely - my wife had Moules Mariniere and they were only luke warm and could have been hotter. Steaks - a fillet steak was a ridiculous £30!! and a Chateaubriand now at £52!!...... eat at a lot of places and even though it's a 10 ozs it's a £iver too much!!... Champagne is also on the high side. In the end we had 3 bottles of sparkling Cava which made the night more enjoyable. Thanks SLN but get some money spent!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Owner at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We are sorry to read your comments about your evening since you have previously always enjoyed the restaurant - we are pleased that you felt the service and presentation of the food remained a positive to your experience.
With regards to our décor, we appreciate your comments and we will take them on board however, we would like to note that we take pride in our traditional basement feel and we feel the decoration adds to the atmosphere here at Sous le Nez. Secondly, we are sorry to hear that you found our toilets unhygienic. We do ensure these are cleaned thoroughly at the start of everyday but it always a challenge to monitor them throughout the evening, especially at busy periods.
We are very surprised you have commented on the price of our food and champagne as, for a city centre restaurant, we feel we are extremely reasonably priced. The Chateaubriand is actually 16oz (before cooking) which we think for two people - when compared to other city centre restaurants - is realistically priced. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Sous Le Nez never fails to dissappoint. We luckily managed to get a fairly last minute reservation, which is a challenge for any of the best restaurants in Leeds itself, for a birthday dinner.

From starters, to mains, desserts and coffee, our whole party was impressed by the excellent service, wonderful choice of wines and fantastic, very traditional, French cuisine - everything was excellent with good sized portions, all expertly cooked.

Atmosphere-wise, the restaurant is decked out as you'd expect a busy basement restaurant in Paris, bustling and full of atmosphere, but with some quieter, intimate corners if you were wanting a bit of romance. The restaurant is tucked away from the rowdier parts of Leeds and is only 5 mins from the station, so whilst central it's been protected from the busy bar scene in Leeds which makes it all the more special.

I'll definitely be visiting again, maybe i'll be able to fit a full dessert in next time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamescollins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hello and thank you for your lovely review of Sous le Nez.
We are thrilled you chose us to celebrate your birthday and we're so glad you and your party were happy with all aspects of your visit. We will make sure all your kind comments are passed on to the relevant staff and we hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a lovely little place, excellent service, lovely food and a unbelievable wine list, sword fish was out of this world!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavodoubleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi, thank your coming to visit us and for writing such a lovely review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the full experience of dining with us and were happy with the service you received. We will make sure your comments on the swordfish will be passed on to our staff and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for two for a date on a Monday evening. The restaurant was busy, the food was amazing and the service attentive and knowledgable. I particularly recommend the venison.
Very reasonably priced and an excellent wine list. Some of the best food in Leeds.

Thank RBrook89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sous le Nez.
We are thrilled to hear that although you came to visit us on a busy night, your service remained attentive and you found the food enjoyable. Hopefully we will be able to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sous le Nez en Ville also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sous le Nez en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing