We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner Cafe

The Corner Cafe
Ranked #23 of 1,790 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small, independent, family run restaurant. Our food is home style cooking inspired by family dishes from Old Delhi. Our menu has a wide range of vegetarian dishes available. Following the addition of a new mezzanine floor we are now fully licensed. We stock many different ales from local breweries.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited following a recommendation and glad we did. Service was spot on, not once did we feel rushed nor were we kept waiting. Food was delicious, a great change to find our 4 choices of main courses all had their individual and fabulous taste. Plenty to choose from on quite an extensive menu catering for vegetarian and meat lovers alike. A variety of drinks all reasonably priced. All in all we had a tasty meal and will definitely be back for more. Would highly recommend but would suggest booking in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you very much for a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    73
    24
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Corner Café with a group of 11 for one of our friend's birthdays.

The staff were warm, friendly and attentive, without feeling bothersome. A balance achieved by so few restaurants!

The food was excellent. Hot, flavoursome, and very generous with their portion sizes. But not so much so that you felt overwhelmed by the amount of food that appeared before you.

The atmosphere in the restaurant was really nice. Pretty full, but without feeling overcrowded or too noisy.

Overall, we had a really lovely meal, and I would recommend the Corner Café to everyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnDr0iD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Wow, thank you for a lovely review. Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope we didn't embarrass your friend too much with the birthday sing song at the end of the night! Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Worth travelling for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were staying a few nights in Headingley and asked friends for a recommendation. Very pleased we did. The Corner Cafe is one of the friendliest, not to mention busiest, eating places I have ever been to. The service was first class and the food was delicious, with great spicing and perfect judgement of the heat of the main course. The Kulfi at the end of the meal was a delightful surprise, great flavouring, unusual combinations.
If you want good food in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere this may be the place for you.
Oh, and real ale ( bottled) from local breweries, too. Bonus!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We don't advertise, so it's always great to hear that people recommend us to their friends. Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

In all the year's we have frequented the Corner Cafe...(and that has been many), not once have we EVER been disappointed. Excellent authentic food, wonderful friendly service, and great value for money. I remember the old Corner Cafe based in Sheepscar... (many moons ago!), which was run by the Corner Cafe's owners father, that was also an excellent place to eat. So pleased the family tradition continues. Having moved up to North Yorks we still travel to have a meal there. A definite try if you are haven't already.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you Gaynor, for a lovely review. We have been around for a long time and it's thanks to the support of loyal customers, like yourselves, that we are still around today! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“what a friendly little place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Decided to give this little Indian a whirl, we are big fans of the big Indian chain, however after reading trip advisor thought we would try this...not in the best of areas, but was very surprised .... what a lovely welcome, staff were very pleasant, food and drinks very good and very reasonably priced - will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeedsPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. It was great to meet you both on Tuesday. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Cafe also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing