We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian ever”
Review of The Corner Cafe

The Corner Cafe
Ranked #24 of 1,856 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a small, independent, family run restaurant. Our food is home style cooking inspired by family dishes from Old Delhi. Our menu has a wide range of vegetarian dishes available. Following the addition of a new mezzanine floor we are now fully licensed. We stock many different ales from local breweries.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian ever”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Took the girlfriend out for a meal to corner cafe the other day and my word what a treat it was. This is something else. Nothing ordinary and generic about this little gem. The food is of the highest quality and I could not begin to recommend it enough. If you want the best Indian meal you have ever tasted then get yourself to corner cafe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornbeefhash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    75
    26
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good over 15 years!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been going to the Corner Caff for 15 years.... we live nearby and it's our local Indian restaurant.. we know how lucky we are! The food is great - fresh and authentic; service is good and efficient and the owners are friendly and welcoming. They do lots in the community and the atmosphere is always vibrant. I would choose the Corner Caff above other Indian restaurants which are big and impersonal and mass-produced food any day of the week!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Anna. Thank you for a lovely review - we are a small independent restaurant and proud of that, so I am glad that like that about us too! Thank you again. Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service, fantastic value”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service, fantastic value. This place is great for mixed groups and produces great food for meat and non-meat eaters alike. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownLongEaredOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for those kind words - much appreciated. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never fails to please”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been coming to the Corner Café since it was in Sheepscar in the 1970's and then since it re-opened on Burley Road. The food is always great and the fish and vegetarian choices make it a perfect place to go with non meat eating friends. The owner and his wife are great hosts and Kate's desserts are really unusual and delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Sneesie. Thanks for a great review and thank you for giving my kulfi a special mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This was a great meal we had! Surprise after walking from the center of town. Very friendly, excellent service and very nice foo”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We will definitely eat here again and recommend it to lovers of Indian cuisine, mixed groups including vegetrarian and meat eaters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccvg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Cafe also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing