We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing authentic yet modern indian restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner Cafe

The Corner Cafe
Ranked #22 of 1,790 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small, independent, family run restaurant. Our food is home style cooking inspired by family dishes from Old Delhi. Our menu has a wide range of vegetarian dishes available. Following the addition of a new mezzanine floor we are now fully licensed. We stock many different ales from local breweries.
leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic yet modern indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting the corner cafe for the last 20 years. It has grown from a small cafe to a beautiful modern restaurant. What has not changed is the amazing quality of food that Karim and his team create.
As a vegetarian I often find that especially in indian restaurants the food is poor but here it is exquisite. A host of vegetables all cooked to perfection.
Equally my fussy meat eating hubby loves the chicken kharai but also ofetn has the specials which are fabulous.
Kate and karim have also transformed my daughter for having her special of rice chicken and peas to creating her her own curry which she loves so much she wanted her 8th birthday tea there!
The service is fabulous and the whole restaurant has a lovely warm, friendly ambiance.
For anyone who loves authentic indian food - or anyone who would love to create their own dish, go to the Corner cafe .., after 20 years you cant get a better recommendation than that!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzywozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! We are a family run restaurant and, as such, love to see families of all ages dining out together. Children are very welcome in our restaurant and we are glad to hear that your daughter loves the food. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    73
    24
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class, everytime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I'm probably 6 months in to my Corner Cafe adventure and I can safely say that the food is like nothing I’ve tasted before. I've visited the usual haunts and all the big chains in the UK as well as spending some time in India and nothing compares. Every meal to date has been top class. Always fresh, very authentic and each time a taste sensation. This combined with the fantastic service, great selection of beers, wonderful ambience and warm, welcoming staff make the Corner Cafe the best place to eat in Leeds, if not further afield.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gary1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Great review - it's very touching to get such positive comments. Thank you for such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We have been visiting The Corner Cafe since its earlier inception when Karim's father was in charge in Sheepscar and Karim was a schoolboy. The present site on Burley Road continues the style of cooking but Karim,Kate and their staff do so much more. The recent addition of the mezzanine floor greatly enhances the warm friendly ambience. Some restaurants are all about the food, some all about the ambience but the Corner Cafe combines both to perfection. Fresh ingredients are used imaginatively to create delicious dishes tailored to the individual diner's taste. The warmth of the greeting, the friendly efficient staff and the attention to detail combine to provide the perfect evening. One tip... Make sure you leave room for Kate's kulfi. My favourite is liquorice and fennel which has a great flavour and is packed with chunks of delicious soft liquorice.

Helpful?
Thank LeedsUKDilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review. It means a lot to see such a positive review posted here. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say...it has to be one of the most well run restaurants I return to again and again. The staff are attentive without being in your face, the restaurant is always so clean, the toilets are the cleanest I've seen and consistently so.
Now to the food...I'm in my forties and always loved curry, so I know what I'm talking about when i say the curry dishes are well thought out, with excellent quality ingredients, wonderful flavours and perfect fluffy naan breads.
Chicken/meat Marsala corma(madras!)to die for.
Outstanding currys, great selection of beers and open Sundays too.

Helpful?
Thank rkg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Well what a thorough review - even our toilets got a mention! Thank you for such a great review and for mentioning our new opening times - the new Super Sunday evening is going really well and has proved very popular. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value curry restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Visited this restaurant for the first time while staying with friends who live nearby. We certainly hope it's not the last. A small but charming family owned restaurant which has a straightforward menu that delivers every time. The staff are very efficient and friendly. Bonuses are the wide selection of artisan bottled beers and delicious the home-made ice creams which make up the dessert menu.Quality and price make it a definite 5 stars.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dobbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate_Ghauri, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening out with friends at our restaurant. We don't advertise and so rely on word of mouth to spread the word! It's good to know that your friends are happy to recommend us. Hope to see you all again next time you are in Leeds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Cafe also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing