We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Beautiful at all times

This fabulous garden, although small is well maintained and laid out. Very friendly staff and free... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Monkeyjim5
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Fabulous garden

Our second visit here, it is several years since our last visit and there were some new additions... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2019
PinkFirApple
,
Goole, United Kingdom
Read all 120 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Leeds
from $42.47
More Info
from $39.20
More Info
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
92
21
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
92
21
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every corner spencer family delightful garden water features norman church tea room is cakes for sale visited york volunteer staff entrance fee arts crafts style garden design opposite the church great cup of tea plants and trees harlow carr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 120 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2019

Our second visit here, it is several years since our last visit and there were some new additions to the garden. Really interesting and varied garden, beautifully kept, lovely to just wander around. There is also a gift shop and tea and coffee available. My only criticism was that the tables in the garden had lots and lots of wasps buzzing around them. There were pots with jam to obviously try to tempt the wasps away from visitors but it wasn't working well. I am terrified of wasps and so drank my cup of tea walking around the outdoor seating area. Don't let that put you off going though, it's a fabulous garden and well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank PinkFirApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YorkGateGarden, Volunteer Co-ordinator at York Gate Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi
So pleased that you enjoyed your second visit here. I am so sorry that the wasps were causing a problem, we were certainly trying our best to keep the pesky things away from our visitors. Fortunately the wasps hadn't worked out that we had an inside area to our cafe, so that was wasp free!
Thanks again for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

This is a great little garden,well worth visiting.
Please note that it is only an acre not a park or stately home, but all the better for that.
Some great design features and unusual plants to see.
Nice tea room just what you need after a look round.
I appreciate that gardens have to evolve and are not set in aspic but please don't change things too much.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YorkGateGarden, Volunteer Co-ordinator at York Gate Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Hi John

Thanks for your lovely comments and don't worry, we won't change the garden much at all as we want to keep it as the Spencers designed it, it's only the plants that change as the seasons do.

Glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Would love to visit this garden at different seasons to see the changes. Lovely setting. Great cheese scones!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YorkGateGarden, Volunteer Co-ordinator at York Gate Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Hi Rachael

Yes, the garden looks good throughout the year - hope to see you back here. I've passed on your comment to the catering team - they are very pleased!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

There is so much to teach you about making the best of any type of condition and what will grow in it.

You need to keep your eyes looking in every corner so you do not miss plants etc that will help in your own garden. Take photos!

You can also mull over your ideas with a cuppa and cake.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank MartinBale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YorkGateGarden, Volunteer Co-ordinator at York Gate Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Hi

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - both in the garden and the tea room :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

We went to visit, on Bank Holiday Monday. The price for what we viewed was far too high. The garden was pretty, but very small, we were through it in about 1/2 an hour. We are both gardeners, but felt that it was a huge mistake not to have any of the flowers or plants with a descriptive label on them. For 6 pounds (sorry a USA iPad!), we would not be happy to recommend this garden, at this high price. Maybe for 3, as it’s a tea room too, but we didn’t eat there.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank coggie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YorkGateGarden, Volunteer Co-ordinator at York Gate Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Hi

Thank you for your comments and sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the garden.

Relating to the cost of entry, we are run by Perennial, who are a charity who looks after horticulturalists in need. The entry charge, therefore, is used to help support families and individuals working in horticulture..

With regards to the plant labels, York Gate is a family designed garden and not a botanical collection so we do not label any of our plants. There is always a gardener or volunteers in the garden who would be able to answer any plant questions - in fact we also sell many of the plants in our plant nursery, again staffed by volunteers who would be happy to help with queries.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews