We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1980's wedding meets Gypsy weddings meets TOWIE”
Review of Oceana

Oceana
Ranked #128 of 154 Nightlife in Leeds
Attraction details
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“1980's wedding meets Gypsy weddings meets TOWIE”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Well... I have been to 2 Oceana's and both of them are worse than eachother if that is possible... And in the case of Oceana it is. This venue breaks the laws of physics and the boundaries of science to become as bad as it is.
The bar staff's idea of a cocktail is opening a bottle of wkd
The bar staff's idea of a beer is opening a bottle of wkd
The bar staff's idea... Actually that is all they know

As they played the summer of 69 by bryan adams for the 8th time in 5 minutes and the 44th Essex girl covered in foundation told me that they are "having the best time with their girlies" I decided to attempt suicide and this is my suicide note. I hope it acts more as a warning more than a personal portrayal of dismay.
Happy clubbing Oceana!

Helpful?
5 Thank Gina800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    4
    2
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great, lots of music to choose from”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Fab nightclub, got on the gusetlist via the website, lots of rooms to choose from.
Gets very busy! LOTS of stairs.
Very nice doormen

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank therasaHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“what a load of overrated crap!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

my partner and i went to jongleurs at oceana this weekend, really looking forward to it as weve been to something similar in coventry and had a good night, as soon as we got there it took us 40mins to get served at the bar..at this point the food was no longer being served, so we went without, then is was so packed you could barely move.
the comedians weren that funny, infact they were terrible, hardly anyone was laughing so i know it wasnt just us being picky.
we actually left before the show ended, after 2 out of the 3 acts had been on stage, that was enough for us, maybe we just didnt go on the right night??? either way it was £35.00 wasted.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank covgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Do go, absolutely terrible”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

15 of us went to Jongleurs at Oceana, Birmingham for our works Christmas do. We paid for the silver xmas package, £49.50 and were looking forward to a good night. We were in good spirits when we arrived and things quickly went down hill from there on. We descended into the club, and found out table in the Reykjavik room. It's a relatively large room which was freezing could and smelt like the inside of a vacume cleaner bag. Our complementary arrival drink, never arrived and our pre-ordered food had to be reordered...... It took some time for us to get our drinks to arrive, when they did, the draft drinks and wine were undrinkable and we had to revert to bottles. No chance of getting tipsy though as the service was extremely slow. Eventually food arrived (probably causing the biggest laugh of the night as it was so bad) most of it was returned uneaten. The comedian for the evening was racist and insulted most of the audience. Eventually we all walked out after complaining to the management.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Bob_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Packed”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

First time visitor to Leeds nightlife and not a great deal on offer. Oceana was recommended it's not great but it's not rubbish either, just average. There are plenty of places to get lost in and any smokers will have to go to the very top as your not allowed outside. Get in before 11pm to the bar adjacent and you'll be allowed free access to the nightclub otherwise a nice £10 entry fee applies. The bar service is slow, and the beer is watered down a amaretto and coke just taste like flat coke.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Oceana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing