We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are wanting to visit the Armouries, I guess this will do as a one night stopover, but I don't recommend a longer stay, and here is why

Just walking down the corridor to the rooms there is a sense of refurbishment required immediately, the same when you enter the room. Old tv set with poor reception. Now, I don't normally even turn on the hotel tv, but I had to in order to get internet service (wired) for my laptop. It took two visits to reception and a visit from a member of staff to reboot the tv at the mains switch to get the internet 'login' page available. Getting a work laptop to work via the same sequence just proved impossible (whereas at the same hotel in Bradford it is all wi-fi and just works). Rooms are small, sofa beds look very tired, glad I did not need it.

Breakfast may be free, but really, I tried it and then decided to go out and pay, it was standard Holiday Inn Express fair, very poor quality. I guess I should expect that when free, but I would rather the knocked a pound off the room rate than churn out this horrible excuse for food

On the plus side, staff were very friendly and helpful

If you are not staying for an armouries visit the walk into Leeds is very nice by the canal, if you have 20 mins to do so - therefore not a good business location. Remember it is 20 mins back also

I was told the hotel has new owners who intend to refurbish, replace the rubbish tv's with flat screens, improve the internet experience as well. That would be good, if there is not a price premium

I often need to work in Leeds, but I now value the Holiday Inn Express in Bradford a lot more, simply cheaper and better, even if it means a train ride in the morning (£6.50 day return)

Room Tip: The best room in this hotel is to pack your bags and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear robbieva,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 828 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our stay was marred from arrival when it was necessary to request a change of room as the double sofa bed in our family room was faulty - on ringing the receptionist she indicated that this was a known fault (so why was the room still allocated?).On returning to reception it was necessary to explain the situation to another member of staff as there had not been a handover and the replacement room contained 2 single beds which wasn't as per our original booking. The room was above the reception and on the first floor (our original booking request was for an upper room) so we were subjected to street noise from 5.20am (something you would perhaps expect if more centrally located and not a 15 min + walk from the station).

Other reviewers mention air conditioning, however this was not evident in our room and the extreme heat and subsequent noise from the open window and from slamming doors resulted in poor sleep quality. The door closers need to be addressed as I had difficulty accessing our room such was the tension in the closers.

The room itself was clean and basic with a clothes rail and shelf, old tv, refreshment tray and a nicely refurbished bathroom with a decent shower. The bathroom door which you opened through 90 degrees to use as a toilet door wouldn’t close properly and looked to have been excluded from any recent upgrades.

Despite having breakfast at 7.30am (outside of the advertised peak time), food displays were not stocked, there was no milk in either of the dispensing machines, no teaspoons or trays and tables were not cleared. We ended up checking out before 8.30 and purchasing breakfast locally.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ermintrude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Ermintrude73,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your kind words on your room accommodations and our front desk clerk. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while visiting our hotel. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very welcoming staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was slightly chaotic but that was many due to the self service style but the food and beverages available was fine. I would stay there again if I was ever in leeds

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank looby39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed a Holiday Inn Express from 18th to 21st July and could not fault our stay. It was excellent value for money and just a 10 minute walk along the canal to Leeds city centre. There is a Tesco Express and also a Sainsbury's within 5 minutes walk of the hotel if you need anything extra. Several restaurants, bars and coffee shops were in the vicinity too and whilst hotel was basic the service and facilities were as high as one comes to expect from this chain. Yes, breakfast could be crowded but as long as you were not in a hurry then it was fine. The hotel is across the road from Leeds Armouries so some traffic visiting the displays but adjacent car park was cheap and easy to use. As signage to Armouries was highly visible it was easy to negotiate our way around Leeds and back to hotel. Would not hesitate to use this again should we re-visit Leeds

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanarkDumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The room was spacious and clean. Rooms had air condition which was a god send due to it being close to 30 degrees outside. We stayed one night and parked at the car park next to the hotel £8 for 24 hours which is good value as this is very close to the centre of Leeds (roughly a 20 minute walk). Breakfast was ok nothing special but for the price we paid, very decent. We also visited the Royal Armouries which is a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightymariner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotels situated in a great location in the residential clarance dock development of Leeds City centre. Very friendly staff on reception who always do all they can to help. Lovely lobby and bar area. rooms however are old and outdated. EG old style TV's that keep switching themselves off. even when the air con was switched off it made acracling noise that kept me awake all night on my last stay. doors constantly slam from inconsiderate guests, One morning could not get out of my room for ages as lock was broken that scares me, serious health and safety risk! reasonable continental breakfast but stay clear of the powdered egg and disgusting sausage, simply uneatable. Yesterdays breakfast they had no orange juice, a basic breakfast item and the coffee and hot water system had failed right in the middle of breakfast.

IHG need to monitor this property very, very closely

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear flyingboy72,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

While we are pleased you found our staff highly commendable, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to your guest room and the breakfast served during your stay. We can assure you that your experience is not indicative of the quality we are known to provide. Nevertheless, we have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements to these identified weaknesses.

Once again, we appreciate you sharing your feedback. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as we were wedding guest at the Armouries just opposite the hotel so great location for our stay. Very basic, no toiletries only hand soap supplied. The hotel was very busy and extremely noisy, doors seemed to be slamming all the time. Breakfast was self service, cereal, sausages, scrambled egg, beans. No bacon or tomatoes but adequate. Good value at £42

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds020, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We will speak to maintenance about the door closers to ensure minimal disturbance. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#14 of 87 in Leeds
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
2,132 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: $69 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing