We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Came here for 2 night stay but vhecked out after one night. Had asked for quiet room but we were on a floor where there were groups of girls. Too noisy coming in at 4 am and walls paper thin. Room was okay bit tatty. Wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunloverlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds020, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with our hotel. I am sorry that you had some noise issues during your stay and I have forwarded your feedback to the hotel management. We do have staff available 24 hours a day to ensure that any issues can be resolved for our guests as quick as possible. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on this occasion however we do hope that you would use our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 836 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for one night recently and was pleasantly surprised as this had the feeling of an older well established HI express.
The room was clean,comfortable and well maintained. Car park close by offering discount to hotel guests and plenty of choice for eating out.
Would stay again as long as rate was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds020, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Leeds in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a small group of couples, a reunion of sorts. The staff were absolutely lovely from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble. They recommended shows, places to visit and arranged minibuses to ferry us round.
Even when my wife lost her purse whilst out in town and we had to cancel all her cards they were unflappable. A wonderful young woman named Michele googled the card cancellation number for us, made my wife a cup of tea to calm her down, as she was upset, and offered us free use of the reception phone. She even called all the bars and the restaurant we had gone to, to try to find the lost purse.
Breakfast was tasty, the rooms were clean and comfortable (albeit a little basic, but thats what you expect from a holiday inn express) and the bar was well stocked and cosy, with candlelight and comfy chairs.
A great stay, despite our personal problems, and one we will be keen to repeat soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DemonMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds020, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel and we are pleased that our staff were able to help with your situation. I have forwarded your feedback to the staff mentioned and our hotel management. We do hope you see you next time you are in Leeds and thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

On first impressions hotel room was poorly maintained, although what one would expect from a chain. Seal around the bathroom sink appeared to have worn away and shortly after arriving and whilst taking a shower the entire sink fell through and smashed onto the floor, soaking my clothes in the process! Staff member on reception was absolutely brilliant and washed and dried my clothes as well as popping to the local Tesco and buying my friend and I a bottle of Moët and some free drinks vouchers!
Beware the sofa bed- my friend and I paid extra for a room with a sofa bed but on arrival were told that as we had booked for two people there was no guarantee the bed could be put up, leading to an uncomfortable nights sleep on the sofa cushions! Cleanliness was very good but breakfast basic, don't expect a full English.
Overall an adequate hotel for somewhere to sleep after a night out and excellent staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear 361Katie123,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our property and our service exceeded your expectations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you have encountered. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's a returner- so felt another review in order!! Staff looked after us very well again- the evidence of it's value for money customer pleasing capabilities is self evident , when you look around at breakfast and see the growth of No's since we first used this capable HIE in May 2010. Staff seem smoother too in dealing with difficulties-like changing our faulty TV swiftly for the confs suite set with 2 courtesy Chardonnay's on Sat night and fixing a desk light the previous night! Breakfast although now always mega-busy they always cope. Staff are relaxed and capable. It is this kind of seemless service that keeps me away from other chains in the same price range. I arrived by train and it is such a short wheely roll via Brasserie Blanc and scenic canalside from Leeds Central Station and they checked me in early. I hope I can keep affording it and it doesn't go the way the Southwark HIE went price-wise when HS2 comes!! I believe the TV's will be upgraded soon to flatscreens.

Room Tip: 5th Floor this time- seems to be quiter if large groups are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytweeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I usually always try and pick HI express as you get a fairly consistent standard and the breakfast is always included. The downside to this particular hotel were its lack of car park, which ends up costing £8 per night at the adjacent multi storey which makes the cost of a nightly stay fairly expensive for what is a busy and basic hotel. However on the plus side the location is excellent for city centre activities and you have a number of restaurants on the doorstep of the hotel, we tried Mumtaz indian restaurant which was superb. The hotel was full to capacity during our stay but i slept well and was not disturbed by noise inside or outside, the only draback being at breakfast time when there were simply too many people trying to eat at the same time and not enough staff keeping things stocked.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiebeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear angiebeno,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

While the hotel and room was clean, I found this hotel lacking in some basic services. Having to line up to use the iron in a designated room on the ground floor was most inconvenient, especially as I was there during a major convention next door and the hotel was full of delegates who needed their shirts ironed. The extremely limited menu was disappointing not only in choice but in quality and taste. One had no choice but to go out for a meal.
With just one person at the desk, service was incredibly slow and one of the 2 girls who alternated working the front desk didn't believe in smiling !
The direct hotel line for taxis was for an independent taxi service whose drivers had no clue where the main shopping centre was and took 20 minutes to arrive. I asked the front desk about train service to Harrogate which was 30 minutes away and she said she didn't know as she had never been there--not much help with where to shop either.
Breakfast was ok although selection was limited.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylanneOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear CherylanneOntario,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am happy to read you found our hotel and rooms clean. I am sorry that you encountered some issues with the level of service received from our staff and inconvenience you encountered at the ironing room. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#20 of 87 in Leeds
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: $73 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing