We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed January 25, 2013

While the hotel and room was clean, I found this hotel lacking in some basic services. Having to line up to use the iron in a designated room on the ground floor was most inconvenient, especially as I was there during a major convention next door and the hotel was full of delegates who needed their shirts ironed. The extremely limited menu was disappointing not only in choice but in quality and taste. One had no choice but to go out for a meal.
With just one person at the desk, service was incredibly slow and one of the 2 girls who alternated working the front desk didn't believe in smiling !
The direct hotel line for taxis was for an independent taxi service whose drivers had no clue where the main shopping centre was and took 20 minutes to arrive. I asked the front desk about train service to Harrogate which was 30 minutes away and she said she didn't know as she had never been there--not much help with where to shop either.
Breakfast was ok although selection was limited.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylanneOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear CherylanneOntario,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am happy to read you found our hotel and rooms clean. I am sorry that you encountered some issues with the level of service received from our staff and inconvenience you encountered at the ironing room. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 822 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I always stay here on New Years Eve as I attend the NYE ball at the Armouries. As it's just across the courtyard, it saves the hassle of taxi's. The hotel itself is always clean and well presented. The only negative I can give it is the buffet breakfast is always low on choice. If you book enough in advance the price is good for what you get, the price increases if you leave it until the last minute, as with most hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel was OK for the price but remember to add £8 parking charge when comparing prices.
The room was clean but badly maintained, the bedside light didn’t work, the toilet was difficult to flush and the window wouldn’t close properly but worst of all was the noisy fan assisted heating, if you can imagine going through a tunnel on a train with the window open, you’ll get an idea of what it sounded like, it had it’s up-side though, it drowned out the noise of the elevator situated opposite my room. Breakfast was the typical H I Express breakfast, what have they got against bacon? OK for one night but I wouldn't do two.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Peter T,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Leeds and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Make sure you know which Holiday Inn you have booked into and beware of the City Loop or ring road.
Nothing really wrong with this hotel, the rooms seem clean and tidy; good free wi-fi in the public area.
Reception staff know the area and good places to eat.
Breakfast is sparse and when will any hotel get toasters that toast properly? Can only echo what was said in a previous post - NO BACON, the prime ingredient of the English breakfast!

Room Tip: No obvious best side for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snorbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Snorbins,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to you liked the condition of our hotel and the service you received from our staff. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the breakfast you had. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here on business in January 2013, for the first time in around 6 months. The hotel has improved since I last stayed here - staff are helpful, general cleanliness is good, breakfast OK, confortable beds. The Clarence Dock area of Leeds seems to be dying though - most shops have now gone! Got a good deal on car parking at £8.00 for the night, booked with the hotel and used the small car park at the side of the hotel. My only compaint would be the Shower - the shower head was proper filthy and rendered the shower unusable!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-small-cheese-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its location, it was opposite our works Xmas do venue, so it was very handy. The rooms very nice and the staff were very friendly. The only fault was that there was no bacon with breakfast in the morning, but a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b2be2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great hotel. Rooms are a good size, as is the bathroom. The bed was comfy and the room was nice and warm. Our xmas party was held at the Armouries which is just cross the square so great location. Breakfast was ok, would have liked more of a hot food selection. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank admin_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Jurys Inn Leeds
#21 of 87 in Leeds
2,094 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#38 of 87 in Leeds
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: $70 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing