We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent....”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Great location and for a budget hotel, it offers excellent facilities. I have been using this hotel for a number of years now and compared to the other options it wins outright. The rooms are well equipped and a basic breakfast is included in the cost. The main reason however is the staff are great. No request is ever a problem and is always dealt with in a friendly and helpful manner. I have been spending 5 nights a week in hotels for the last 12 years and the staff here win out over staff at more 'fancy' establishments. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andywardsouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    301
    222
    81
    50
See reviews for
115
205
50
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a lovely hotel very which is well situated in Leeds.

The staff are very pleasant and always welcoming. I've stayed here a number of times in the past and will return for sure.

The rooms are typical Express but that's what you'd expect from a branded hotel and good value for money.

Check-in was no hassle as I'm a priority club member so all my details were to hand, other guests that were checking in at the same time commented how easy the process was. No fuss!

If you're thinking of staying here when in Leeds I would certainly recommend it :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is was a nice hotel, obviously new and therefore modern and clean. A typical value budget (sensible) business class hotel that is a lot quieter at the weekends. It is situated in the Clarence Dock regeneration area adjacent to a Pizza Express restaurant and near to the Armouries Museum and conference centre. Room was excellent, very clean, nicely modern (not garish), good sized and with most amenities. Only issue with the room was the awful TV - and old CRT model that was blurred, clunky and which jarred with its modern surroundings. Why, with flat screen TVs now so cheap, did the hotel stay with this model was a surprise. Breakfast was quite good, much better than other Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have stayed in. Parking was a bit of an issue - the adjacent multi-storey could be booked using a discount slip from the hotel for £8.00 (down from £12.00). This seemed a bit steep, Leeds is generally a good value city, so we parked on a road approx 5 mins walk away - for free after 6.00 PM until 8.00 PM - and then you get two hours free parking! In summary; very good hotel, quite good location, breakfast good, parking expensive or free!

Room Tip: Go early to the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Free_the_Parents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and found the room clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was well organised and enjoyable. The television is old and channels limited but that is not too worrying! Sadly, this hotel failed the toast test! Once through - warm bread - twice through - black! We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Watford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed one night, and found the room very comfy, lovely bathroom. Little disappointed in the TV, very limited channel choice, whats wrong with simple Freeview? Room a little scuffed and worn, and one of the window latches was broken. Breakfast was simple buffet style, so could fill up as much as you wanted, which was good. Staff were very helpful. Location, for me, was great, right opposite the Royal Armouries Museum, in a quieter area of the city, which felt pretty safe, despite the city shutting early in case of riots.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows, so much lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn_Equinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here on saturday for one night. We booked 2 rooms and found both to be clean and spacious. They weren't next door to each other but we didnt request this anyway and we didnt mind although we were only a few doors away and they did apologise.
One of the sofa beds weren't made up on arrival but they did sort this out and brought up some bedding later whilst we were out for the night.
We were there as part of a hen party and there did seem to be quite a few other hen parties and groups, which suited us but may not suit others looking for a quiet time!
Breakfast was good, with a decent choice and seemed to be replenished often.
The only down fall was the customer service, and in fairness to the staff it was busy and there was only one person on reception when there really should have been two. We had to wait about ten mins to check in and the staff member was obviously stressed so meant that they weren't quite as courteous or friendly as we would like but it was obvious that she was busy and rushed off her feet so its understandable. overall we would return if we were in a large group but it perhaps wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Holiday Inn

I stayed here a few years ago but was a little disappointed this time. The walls have become scuffed and in the shower a gap had opened between the walls and ceiling. Despite the hotel's policy of not changing towells every day unless required, I had a housekeeper knocking on my door one morning before I had dressed, to give me a bundle of clean towells!

The nearby Starbucks that I visited when last here has closed, defeating my pan for a convenient alternative to the the complimentary fried breakfast. A number of shops in the Clarence Docks area where the hotel is located have also closed, I guess the result of the economic downturn. Fortunaetly the Tesco convenience stored is still there.

This is still a pleasant and quiet location. It helps to know the route to and from the city centre partly along the river side walk, which you will not get from Google maps.

Holiday Inn Express still charge for WiFi. Maybe Caffee Nero will take the old Starbucks giving guests free WifFi nearby!

Despite these provisos, I'd still consider staying here again if I'm in the fine city of Leeds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Donal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed our location. I do apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Jurys Inn Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,405 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
508 reviews
Holbeck
Clayton Hotel Leeds
Clayton Hotel Leeds
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries
Address: Armouries Drive | Clarence Dock, Leeds LS10 1LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering modern accommodation the new Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries has been created for value and comfort. The hotel has air conditioned rooms and public areas and every room is equipped with all the facilities guests need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, Freeview TV, Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. Located in the heart of Leeds, next to Royal Armouries Museum, this Leeds hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business, offering 130 rooms and 3 meeting rooms. Guests can enjoy our delicious inclusive Express Start breakfast including hot favourites in our great room. If you want impressive architecture, exciting nightlife, great shopping and world-renowned sports venues then our hotel in Leeds is ideally located. The hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the vibrant city of Leeds and Leeds city train station, why not try the Water Taxi for free travel from the train station to New Dock on the Leeds-Liverpool and arrive in style. With most of Leeds City Centre pedestrianised it is perfect for family outings and compliments visitors needs. With the stunning Yorkshire Dales within close distance, is it any wonder that Leeds attracts over 11 million visitors each year. Our first-rate meeting room facilities can offer your business an excellent venue for all your corporate needs. Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre Armouries is able to meet the demands of this fast moving environment by offering first class meeting room facilities and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leeds City Centre-Armouries Hotel Leeds
Express Leeds City Centre Armouries
Holiday Inn Leeds
Leeds Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing