We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down...”
Review of Tropical World

Tropical World
Ranked #9 of 152 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tropical World at Roundhay Park is one of the most well-loved family attractions in Leeds and only three miles from the city centre. At Tropical World you can take a trek through the rainforest; stopping off briefly in the outback of Australia before a quick excursion through the desert, and all in the same morning! It is home to some old friends that include rare birds, crocodiles, butterflies, bats, spiders, snakes and the meerkats - the cutest family in Leeds. It re-opened in March 2015. This follows some stunning renovations that include the aquarium area transformed into a new Amazon themed zone where you can see new residents including piranhas and salamanders.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wakefield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Let Down...”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The place was amazing when I was younger but seems to have dropped in standards... I understand that the place is due a refurb this year? and it defo needs it!!!

We also only saw ONE butterfly???

The meerkat garden is good and impressed the kids...

Hopefully the place will become great again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wbebb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    592
    214
    61
    62
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

easy access for my disabled friend...helpful staff ;-] although i did think the shop was very expensive...i would definitely go again....very good value for money...my disabled friend likes a bargain!!!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tinariley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I've been way to many times”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Best little zoo ever. The meerkats and bats are worth it alone. Recently took my Niece and she loved it. Great day out, plus its right next to Roundhay park

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Forth visit in eighteen months.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

In spite if the few butterflies out and about during our last visit this deficiency was more than made up by the entertaining antics of self absorbed parrot. On the way out we revisited the butterfly area and were rewarded by the site of one beautiful specimen perched, feeding, on half an orange.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Goof fun- especially for kids”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good fun, good to see all the animals, really warm inside though, very interesting. Such a good atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Demi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical World also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Tropical World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing