We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning park”
Review of Golden Acre Park

Golden Acre Park
Ranked #5 of 153 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Stunning park”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Lovely natural park, suitable for all visitors of any ability, it has beautiful wooded areas and flat, safe paths. Dogs are welcome, and there is an excellent cafe serving delicious home made cakes and snacks, and very good coffee!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowbird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    207
    34
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very nice place to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went on a lovely warm Sunday afternoon. The car park was very busy. It's a lovely park, the walk round the lake was an ideal length for our children who are 7 and 5. The cafe looked nice though it was being refurbished so no doubt will be great soon. We had ice cream and tea from the little kiosk behind the cafe.
We had a lovely picnic in the picnic area, there could be a few more tables as they were very busy.
It's a shame there's no play area, that would have made our visit perfect.
We travelled from York so it was quite a way to go for a visit to a park but we were meeting up with family who lived locally so it was a good place to meet though I think Roundhay Park has the edge for us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walks”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It's a most enjoyable park plenty of parkland to look round . Maybe have a picnic or a coffee & ice cream in cafe

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful - so close to the city”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent a lovely few hours at the Golden Acre Park with our granddaughter. A lovely walk around the lake and a nice bite and drink at the cafe. Very peaceful setting and the gardens are very well kept.

The only downside was the ice cream vendor in the car park who wouldn't let us have a baby sized portion of ice cream - insisted on £2 for a tub!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CupcakeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful beyond words”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a picnic and then walked down to the lake. Passed by a clearing with at least a dozen squirrels playing. Beautiful and tranquil.
Will definitely go again and walk further as the place was out of this world.
Only down side was people not picking up after their dogs in the woods, very sad
So much wildlife to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank boringdon_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Acre Park also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Golden Acre Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing