We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow that cow!”
Review of Rare - CLOSED

Rare
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Championing premium local produce and offering a refined yet relaxed menu, Rare is a one-of-a-kind hideaway in Leeds. Enjoy succulent, whole roasted chickens served on a spike, freshly muddled cocktails, and meats brined, braised and slow-cooked in house for melt-in-the-mouth flavours. Chunky wood tables, free Wi-Fi and a range of eclectic specialist newspapers and magazines aid the laidback ambience at Rare restaurant, while local DJ legend Lucy Locket curates bespoke Rare playlists.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

After some of those amazing cocktails in the bar upstairs we decided to eat. The food in the restaurant downstairs was divine. I challenge you to find a better steak this side of Argentina! Can't wait to come back for that alone. Slow-cooked pork belly with soured apple delicious. Didn't have the chicken but it looked great. We had sides as well ... perfect honey roast root vegetables ... naughty crispy chips ... amongst other things .. couldn't resist. No room after a wonderful meal but despite that we HAD to have sticky toffee pudding with lots of spoons ... oh, to DIE for! Keep some room for that without question if you're a must-have pud person. Great to be able to share a plate as well if you just want a taste or don't feel like the full works ... nothing too much trouble for the helpful, knowledgeable staff. And you can tell a lot about the quality of a restaurant by the house wine ... the Sicilian red had it all. When we asked we were told all the food has been carefully sourced ... meat, for example, from a farm in North Yorkshire, sausages made for Rare to their own recipe. We hadn't realised the chefs are so particular about high quality and traceable ingredients ... the story is as good as the food. Shout it from the roof tops, guys! We'll be back for more than that fabulous steak.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spinwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Public Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hello Spinwheel.
It certainly seems like you got good value from your RARE experience - cocktails... meat and more meat... and pudding! Glad you enjoyed. And glad you saw it as an opportunity to share. All our dishes are BIG - so we're finding them perfect to share and people seem to really love the sharing experience. Since you missed out this time - we'd suggest sharing our whole Ale Glazed Chicken next time :)

We're really please you seem to have gotten a good handle on what it means to be RARE (our story) - We promise 'Uncommon Excellence' - which we translate into the way we operate in many ways - but you've pick out some of our core 'Rare Qualities' - Carefully selected Quality produce including wines and meats with their own 'Uncommonly Excellent' stories to tell.

We hope you see you again soon - and hopefully more of our RARE story will unfold :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 636 of 643 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Absolutely the best steak in Leeds. Love the atmosphere, decor, staff and food. Going back next week, and the week after with my mum, can't wait!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Wow Holly.
You'll be wearing our seats out! Good stuff! We like to think we've created the kind of place that can be enjoyed for all sorts of occasions/reasons - whether it be evening dining, a casual lunch or a few cheeky ales or cocktails... so we're glad to hear you are settling in ;)
Hope you enjoy your time with your Mother. If you loved the steak - we'd suggest trying the Tamworth belly pork - it's a mighty portion and full of flavour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My visit started with one of the best Bloody Mary's I've ever had so to be honest, RARE already had me at the bar!! The cocktail menu has clearly been crafted by someone with a lot of passion for it. Every single one has something unique and interesting about it. I'm a sucker for a Bloody so had to try it but wish I could have tried every cocktail on the menu to be honest! Every time I saw one being served I got cocktail envy. The bar staff are absolutely brilliant by the way. We were then taken downstairs to eat. WOW. It's quite unbelievable when you see Sue the Cow for the first time! You'll just have to go to see what I mean. But let me tell you that's going to be a talking point for many years to come. We ordered the Longhorn Porterhouse Steak with Henderson Sauce Giant Onion Rings to share. It was absolutely amazing. I think I'd go as far as saying it's one of the best pieces of steak I've ever eaten. Sensational and cooked to perfection. And you can tell this place prides itself on customer service because the staff are extremely good and very knowledgeable about the food. Finally we have in Leeds what you'd expect to experience only in London. This place is seriously good. I will be back again, and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank abi_firth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hello Abi.
Thanks so much for the glowing review! Your feedback means a lot to us. We've put a lot into our 'RARE' offer of Uncommon Excellence - so it's great to get some feedback on our carefully crafted unique cocktails.
We'll be changing them on a very regular basis - each one unique to RARE - so you'll not find these rare species anywhere else - unless they migrate ;) - in short, come back soon and try some new cocktails before they are extinct!
We're getting some great feedback on our steaks - you're not the first to state that they are "the best pieces of steak I've ever eaten". We have however had some feedback that our 1kg Longhorn Porterhouse Steak is too big - so, although the 1kg is perfect for sharing or for the ultimate meat feaster - we are looking at introducing a 400g option.
Thanks again for the great feedback. We hope to see you along again soon to try some of our other BIG dishes… or one (or two) of those RARE cocktails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We visited on opening night, we were greeted by friendly member of staff. We were offered drinks before going to the restaurant for our meal but decided to take our table. Menu was well thought out if a little difficult to read with the ambient lighting. We all ordered the burger, couldn't fault it, couldn't manage a sweet either! Staff very attentive and courteous, a wider choice of soft drinks could be recommended. The central focal point of a huge mounted cow was a great added feature. Highly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isaac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, General Manager at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hello Isaac.
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are extremely glad you seemed to have a good time at RARE :)
We're glad you felt the menu was well thought out - it's part of RARE's ethos to ensure all aspects of the restaurant are considered and sophisticated - we're all about 'Uncommon Excellence' after all.
Sorry to hear you had trouble reading the menu... unfortunately we don't want to alter the intimate atmosphere by boosting the ambient lighting BUT you'll be please to know that following your's and other's feedback we've emboldened the menu font making it much easier to read. So thanks for pointing that out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We've just had one of the nicest Sunday roast beef dinners EVER...followed by THE best Bloody Mary I've tasted! If you appreciate good quality produce, and you like it cooked to perfection then you need to try RARE in Leeds. We shall be returning to sample more of the tasty menu soon! Highly recommended! :) x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eatdrinkrare, Guest Relations Manager at Rare, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hello Paul.
So glad to hear you enjoyed your RARE Sunday Experience.
We've set ourselves the aim of becoming the best place in Leeds for a Sunday Roast - so getting this feedback feels good... but... in the pursuit of 'uncommon excellence' - please be sure to let us know of any further feed back you can give us to ensure we achieve our aim ;)
We relish taking a pat on the back - but equally relish constructive criticism.
You marked a 5* for all aspects of your experience – but gave 4* for ‘atmosphere’ – can you maybe let us know what we could do to improve things for you?
Look forward to having you back soon to sample the rest of the menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing