We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Aarti Restaurant

Aarti Restaurant
Ranked #95 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Advance notice: due to a first ever family holiday, we will be shut from Wednesday 3rd June until we re-open on Thursday 18th June at the normal time. We would love to see all our regular and new customers then.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not quite in the city centre but that is probably a good thing.
We were looking for a restaurant with easy parking on the new years day for a light meal.
However could not stop myself after the starters.
I would recommend Butter Chicken and Paneer tikka.
Fabulous food and great service.
Would have liked to have lassi on the menu...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    47
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great curry and over'dosa'ge!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Ate in on Friday and the food was really great. This place has never disappointed me and continue to be my favourite. The rara lamb curry and the marata chicken were really tasty and freshly prepared. We also ordered the dosas which was recommended by the staff and had to get more! The staff were attentive and the place was cosy. Great valve for money. Definitely going back again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VIJFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Curry”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Got a takeout for four on Saturday Night and as always was impressed with the quality of the food. Used to go to the old police station and delighted they have moved even closer. Can't fault the food keep up the good work.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pederz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The recent one star reviews given to Aarti are obviously faked by a competitor.
This restaurant serves authentic Indian food, not the garbage served in the majority of Pakistani restaurants throughout the UK, especially some of the chains which make their curries centrally and then distribute them to branches around Yorkshire.
The food is excellent and the service pleasant and it is great that they have opened on Street Lane following their closure in Chapel Allerton.
We had a good selection of dishes including a dosa which was excellent.
One of the curries tasted a little stewed hence my 4 star rating but you really have to look very hard to find a real Indian restaurant as good as this within 50 miles of Leeds.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debrart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyamal K, Owner at Aarti Restaurant, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Debrart,

Thank you for your kind words.

I am sorry that one of the curries wasnt upto the standards you and we would have liked. I reassure you that we shall endeavour to make sure it is improved upon. Thanks for your feedback.

Shyamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth looking out for”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A small friendly family restaurant. Service has been friendly but was initially a bit amateurish. They have taken a while to get up to speed as they start their own venture after Artis closed - which accounts perhaps for the two poor reviews. However I'd say they are well sorted now. Their dhosas are really special and the whole experience is extremely good value - especially for vegetarians like us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aarti Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Aarti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing