We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miranda”
Review of First Direct Arena

First Direct Arena
Ranked #10 of 164 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The first direct arena is a 13,000 capacity super-theatre that opened in the summer of 2013.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Miranda brilliant but very disappointed with arena. My first visits, probably my last. We were on the top level and needed to be able to see the screens as we were so far away from the stage. The central sceen which was the one I wanted to watch was mostly covered up by a piece of hanging structure. It completely spoilt my evening. Also the price was the same if I had been lower down and had a good view. The staff were great but I won't be going back.

1  Thank Padraig86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Director of Sales at First Direct Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Sorry to hear your experience didn't match your expectations. Due to audience size, arenas need to be large in scale, however unlike other arenas, our back row is only 68 metres from the stage - less than half of our competition. The tickets prices are established by the promoter and the show was on sale, including all of the closer seats for over a year. We will pass your feedback to the promoter on the stage setup. Delighted to hear that you found our staff to be great and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,470 - 1,474 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

first trip to the areana n was very disappointed i would have expected more from the bar area. They could not cope with the volume of people 11k! my partner missed half of two games due to disorganised staff, beer running out, serving per person instead of having pints lined up. I just didn't get it expectations were high but left feeling quite let down.

Thank millertime123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Director of Sales at First Direct Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to the darts. It was a busy night with world record numbers attending and as a result we had constructed additional bars, brought staff over from sister venues and had a significant amount of stock. With so many fans, having what most said was their best night out for many years, the bars were extremely busy but our team did all they good to ensure that as many customers could be served as quickly as possible. We've passed your feedback to our food and beverage team for future visits of the darts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

booked 4 top seats block 105 row E centre stage , when we arrived we told we had to move due to camera positions placed right in front our seats , we were moved twice to seats that had terrible views , totally disapointed feel cheated , and for the record first direct arena never told us of the problem until 1hour before the show when we arrived despite having our phone number email address etc , if youve booked this block "105" rows A-E for any forthcoming shows at the leeds arena i suggest you contact them to make sure youre not going to be moved due to production cameras taking up the best position and view that you have paid for . A TOTAL DISGRACE ! CHEATED AND UTTERLY SHAMBOLIC

Thank csfasmhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Director of Sales at First Direct Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

We are very sorry that your experience was not as you, the Arena or the Promoter who hires the venue to stage the event would have wished.

Unfortunately we were not aware of the camera locations prior to the set up on 21.3.14 of this equipment. The Promoter how hires the venue to stage Miranda arrange all lighting, sound, cameras and associated equipment. We sell tickets on their behalf in good faith.

All efforts were made to contact ticket holders of this equipment, with best available alternative seating offered if guests wished to move away from this location.

We would like to assure you this is not standard practice and we will share your comments with the Promoter and out Event Management to review in case requested in the future.

Once again we apologise for this change of seating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I don't know what the issue with seating at the arena is but there is always a problem. Firstly the seats are set out in such a way that they are too close together, so if you're anything over about 6 foot tall you are in for an uncomfortable evening. Secondly, we were shown half way to our seats before the usher got distracted by someone else asking a question. We continued to our seats to find stickers had been placed over the actual numbers. We were seats 25 and 26, however there was no 26. We asked an usher if he could help, he took our tickets off us then told us he wasn't allowed to move and would have to wait for a supervisor but they had all 'vanished' after missing the first 5 minutes of the show I asked for our tickets back and I would find a supervisor. Eventually he suggest we go to the information desk who did help us.

Again as with previous reviews, it's such a shame the seating wasn't planned better because this ruins what should be an excellent venue. Sheffield arena all the way!

Thank CJh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Director of Sales at First Direct Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hello and sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We have passed your feedback onto the ushers & supervisors so that they are able to improve for the future. In terms of the arena seating, we offer better leg room than all of our arena competitors, including padded seats however your feedback has been noted. We are pleased to hear that the information desk were able to help you. Rest assured, all feedback is valued and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I don't think we are the only ones disappointed with Disney on Ice at the arena. The online seating plan was night only misleading but incorrect. Having paid full price for what were shown as centre seats facing the stage, we were disappointed to turn up to find the stage rotated through 90 degrees and half the arena sectioned off meaning we were side on and couldn't see any of the scenery. Great view of the behind stage mechanics :-( ruined a birthday treat for my 5 year old son. Poor info and seating plan. Must do better!

2  Thank BoogieBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony W, Director of Sales at First Direct Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Disney experience at the First Direct Arena. Feedback is really important to us, and we've forwarded your comments to the promoter and organiser of the show for their planning for future visits. We pride ourselves on providing a great view and experience and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Direct Arena also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to First Direct Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing