We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little different...”
Review of Outlaws Yacht Club

Outlaws Yacht Club
Ranked #13 of 159 Nightlife in Leeds
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A European style café/bar, exhibition space, record shop & creative hangout tucked away on New York Street in Leeds… We have an ever changing selection of beer, wine, cocktails, spirits, loose leaf teas & local coffee as well as a great choice of meats, cheeses, sandwiches & snacks. In the evenings we have the best local and international djs providing the sound track. Past Djs include, Andrew Weatherall, Justin Robertson, A Man Called Adam, Tiago, Moonboots, Phil Mison, Tako & Abel, Jan Schulte, Vidal Benjamin, Ruf Dug, Alexis Le Tan, Tropical Jeremy, and Nightmares on Wax. We host a wide range of events including Q&As, book clubs, film nights, poetry readings and art exhibitions. Past guests include Don Letts, Tim Burgess, Alan McGee, Pete Fowler, Grant Fleming, Mark Grist, Kris Needs, Greg Wilson & Ian Tilton. With free wifi & plenty of plug sockets for freelancers and comfy space for meetings, plus a large selection of vintage board games, kids books and lego to play with come down and spend a morning, afternoon or evening with us…
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place on a Saturday night out in Leeds. Great vibe and good music. Relaxed and chilled and good service

3  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Oh dear – a first time visit for me to this ‘trendy’ bar started well. A clearly large party of us arrived for a work celebration and proceeded to buy a lot of (expensive) drinks and (poor) food.

What a shame there was no indication anywhere or mention from the staff that, within an hour of us settling in for what seemed like a good night, a library-like hush descended as the floor and entire bar was given over to a live recording of interview for – what was apparently a regualr film club meeting.

Killed our night, annoyed their regulars attending for the event and disrupted the interview. The manager – or whoever she was – was so extremely rude to us not least berating a colleague outside the building! If I owned the place I would sack her she has seriously damaged your business and reputation.

All you had to do was tell us there was an event starting soon and we would have left earlier – but then again you would have lost all that money we put behind the bar.

Bad show yacht club – you’ve lost a lot of future business from a big workforce on your door step…

On the plus side we went next door to Crowd of Favours – phenomenally better on all levels – drinks, food, atmosphere, customer service. Off to write a great review for them…

1  Thank ANNON186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutlawsYachtClub, Manager at Outlaws Yacht Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening with us. The individual you mentioned was not a part of the management team and was only involved in running the one off event. We always endeavour to conclude of any issues with customer experiences as it means a lot to us at Outlaws, for everyone to go away happy, if it would be possible please could you contact us via our email "outlawsyachtclub@hotmail.co.uk" so we can look into the matter further.

Warm Regards,

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I went here for a Sunday afternoon shopping break. The place was basically empty but the atmosphere was still fine. The menu looked lovely and their drinks menu was great and varied too. The staff were friendly, it played good music and the food was delicious. I would really recommend this!

2  Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice, relaxed bar with friendly staff. Usually something different/intriguing going on and it's in a part of the centre with some other decent bars/pubs nearby. Offered me cucumber or lime in my GnT, so bonus points for that (always go for cucumber).

1  Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Simply love OYC. Pretty much everything about the place. For starters, the vibe. I can't quite put my finger on it, but there's something that makes you feel like you've discovered a hidden gem. It's laid back, yet equally their attention to detail is faultless. Everything screams quality - the food, the drink,but mostly, I'm impressed by the way they cater for so many different markets. Families especially, with kid-friendly and adult film screenings, activities for the kids, club nights, specialist food events, record fairs. Seriously, these guys go the extra mile.

3  Thank JuliaBenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaws Yacht Club also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Outlaws Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing