We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovin Italy!”
Review of LIVIN'italy

LIVIN'italy
Ranked #35 of 1,883 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BAR - ITALIAN KITCHEN - DELI the friendliest retreat/bar in Leeds City Centre with an Italian restaurant and in-house deli. Open from breakfast to late night cocktails. But tasting truly is believing!!
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great staff always friendly and welcoming! Great atmosphere and affordable prices! Recommended as great place for a steady drink or for food...your welcome

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonny5grannary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for LIVIN'italy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 722 of 942 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had booked a table and had to wait an age before we could get to it, only to find that we had a view of the Dark Arches Car Park. The Piglet Platter starter was uninspiring, we should have lingered as we had to wait another age for our main courses to arrive. We had all chosen the special featuring Beef tenderloin. The waitress got fed up apologising for the delay and sent the manager over, who did more apologising. We should have cut our losses and gone to eat elsewhere, as when it arrived, it was dire.
Never again will I cross the threshold of this establishment. You have been warned.

2  Thank alleynboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivinItaly_LS1, Owner at LIVIN'italy, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear alleynboy,

thanks for the slightly shocking feedback.
I am sorry you were not happy with any sides of our establishment, whether it was the venue, the food, the service, the lot :s

The only thing that remains to be said i think, is that i don't think we were made for each other, we tried, but it didnt work out :(

it is an extremely rare happening for us, fortunately, which makes us a very successful establishment but in this case, our views were too far apart.

so, many thanks for the warning (it will be cherished) and i wish you all the best.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews on trip advisor, I decided to visit this restaurant with my pal after having a few beers around Leeds ,wish id been earlier! The food was great & my friend who's from London thought it was fantastic, every time he comes to Leeds he always wants to go back! The pizzas are to die for! Going again tonight :-)

2  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

One of the best places to eat or drink in Leeds. A great atmosphere with fantastic food. The beer selection on draft is limited to one but that is a very minor quibble!

Thank Damian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

After drinking at livin' Italy several times, always enjoying the ambiance and service, I decided to take my partner and some friends for a meal. As it was a Saturday night and we hadn't booked we had to wait until 9pm for a table - not a problem as we just went for a drink locally.
Upon being seated we were served by a waitress who was miserable and not welcoming. The starters arrived reasonable quickly; creamy mushrooms were very nice but the salami and bread was a little plain (although exactly as described - go for the mushrooms!)
It is at this point that the night took a turn for the worse. We were left waiting a long time for our mains so I raised this with the management who informed me it would be with us in a couple of minutes - this ended up being closer to 20 minutes. By the time the mains arrived it was nearly 11pm, nearly 2 hours since being seated and given my partner is pregnant not really an ideal time to be eating! The management apologised and gave us a free round of drinks. I ordered the sausage burger with roast potatoes but this came with fries instead as they had run out of potatoes, not a big problem but it would have been nice if the waitress had mentioned this rather than waiting for me to point it out; again, poor service. My GF enjoyed her burger and mine was nice, however my friends partner ordered the asparagus cannelloni which she was very disappointed with - no visible asparagus and not much other than a roll of pasta with a creamy sauce.

Clearly not happy the management gave us a different waitress who was much much more professional ( efficient, pleasant, smiley etc) for the remainder of the evening. We didn't have desserts as it was getting late.


When asking for the bill the front of house manager apologised giving us 20% off the bill (as well as the free round previously mentioned)

In summary, a nice quirky place with one good waitress and front of house manager and a few reasonable dishes. With the right combination of staff and dishes I'm sure this would have been a good experience but unfortunately we were not so lucky!

2  Thank ebean1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivinItaly_LS1, Owner at LIVIN'italy, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

caro Ebean1611,

Many thanks for your precious feedback.

We already had a good chat on the night about the unusual wait between courses, for which i apologize once again. We had a temporary issue in the kitchen that evening and unfortunately, you ended up waiting longer than you should. As you know, it is not our usual standard and after having raised the issue during your meal, we did all we could to rectify it.

As to the food and service, I am inclined to think the wait kind of spoilt your view on everything, as it would do to most people. i tend to think that, because we get nothing but praises about for example, something like our cannelloni, which are made with an asparagus mousse filling (asparagus are not supposed to be seen in it, as they are blended into the mousse), the cannelloni is also gratin with "Fontina" melted cheese, Parmesan & truffle oil, for a pretty tasty outcome ;)

i understand though, it is not a box standard cannelloni, but more of an Italian specialty, that sometimes can go misunderstood, if never tried before. So if tradition is what you are looking for, i would suggest to go for more classic dishes like our Lasagne, Aubergines Parmigiana or one of our plates of pasta.

bottom line, i would like to invite you to try us again, as i hope you will, considering you always enjoyed the venue, because i believe you would not be disappointed of our usual standards, which tend to be consistent unless an unusual problem arises, which unfortunately, can happen from time to time, but i can assure you we retain a large amount of repetitive business, with guests becoming "friends" and dropping by on a regular bases, as you can see from many other reviews.

so warm regards and an hopeful arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LIVIN'italy also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to LIVIN'italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing