We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor xmas lunch”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Ranked #73 of 1,838 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Botanist offers a well-stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 40 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food at The Botanist comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Trading Company, The Botanist is a concept unlike anything else!
Leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor xmas lunch”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Recently went for xmas lunch with work colleagues.

Starter that was advertised on the website as chicken skewer turned out to be an anaemic skewer with a splattering of lettuce .
The main of turkey escalope was basically a small turkey roll in sausage format 30% processed meat which tasted like cardboard and 70% gooey stuffing.

The dessert of Apple strudel really looked like a corned beef hash, it was mushy and basically awful.

For £20 I felt like I had been ripped off and certainly won't be going near the place again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank daz2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    382
    97
    37
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Great in the potting shed”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great place, a little different...its a garden potting shed theme...service was great, food was quirky but wholesome and drinks awesome! Our waiters were top notch and really looked after us!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My partner and I went here for date night a few weeks ago, I think it had newly opened, and I was really happy with the food and the service. The decor is fantastic as well, so cosy!! We were a bit early for our reservation but the hostess seated us none-the-less and we a waiter took our drinks order shortly after. I had a delicious cocktail!!! My meal, the hanging kebab, was absolutely delicious and so was the steak that my boyfriend had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady_A_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing :(”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I went to The Botanist on a work Christmas meal recently and must say that after previous visits here felt very disappointed both by the food and the service.

The table was booked for 9.30pm but when we arrived there it wasn't ready, we waited another 20 minutes in the bar area before been seated not sure if an apology was offered to our organiser but certainly nothing to others as we were been shown to the table.

We had booked the Christmas Meal which was £25 for 3 courses which is average at Christmas. Unfortunately I feel it was overpriced for what we actually received. I opted for a chicken skewer starter with honey & mustard mayo and although was ok the chicken was very dry, the main of sirloin of beef - very tasty and the meat actually cooked perfectly (requested medium/rare) for sides we were given roast potatoes and green beans.......no other veg which I found rather strange (especially felt for a couple of people who didn't like green beans in our party) and then for dessert either apple strudel or Christmas pudding. I'm not a fan of either but went for the strudel which the pastry seemed a bit soggy and very strong cinnamon.

By the time we finished eating it was almost midnight so we asked for the bill and were somewhat surprised to have been presented with a £300 drinks bill (as well as 10% service charge) even though the majority of the party had been getting separate drinks from the bar and the others that weren't had 2 bottles of wine to the table so knew what was owed. The bill went back and forth at least 3/4 times before been finally been sorted out.

I have been to The Botanist on several previous occasions and have enjoyed a lovely meal here prior to this one but have been really put off by this and don't feel their Christmas menu is worth the money which was a shame as I was really looking forward to it.

The place its self very nice decor but just gets a tad too busy at times busy too some members of our party were waiting approx 20 mins for drinks at the bar which when you're also eating there is a little excessive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gummybear81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bite for lunch and a yummy cocktail”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I visited on Friday on my own. Part way through Christmas shopping I decided to stop for lunch and fancied treating myself to a yummy cocktail. I was on my own and felt totally comfortable visiting. The food wAs lovely. I had the platter. Staff ever so friendly and the cocktail was amazing. I am coming back and dragging the husband along this time. Thankyou xxxx

Helpful?
Thank Kel_KMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing