We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular water hole” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Ranked #60 of 1,790 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Botanist offers a well-stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 40 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food at The Botanist comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Trading Company, The Botanist is a concept unlike anything else!
1 review
“Regular water hole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Seeing how i work just up the road at park plaza hotel this is a convenient place to visit after work for a few drinks with friends.
Ive been in quite a few times now and everything is always at a consistently high standard.
The barstaff and waiters are all friendly and well trained and obviously really enjoy themselves whilst working.
The food is good for what is basically fancy pub food. But the kebabs on the stands are something to behold!
The range of drinks is good and my friends always enjoy the ale on offer and I like the cider, but there is something for everyone. (Cocktails are also done well)
And its always got a healthy amount of people in so the atmosphere is always great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leedsls5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    365
    87
    34
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Refreshingly Different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staying at the Park Plaza and looking for a local restaurant I hadn't tried before, I saw some reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a go.
First thing is that it's easy to miss, it's set back of the road so use the Trinity Church as the landmark.
There's a good "basement" outside area with canopies and heating but we went inside to a restaurant and large bar area that reminded me of something from Conneticut or Maine.
There's a good selection, even for us veggies and I chose the "hanging kebab" with halloumi, which indeed arrived on an elegant device with a bowl of cous cous beneath. Sitting above the kebab was a small cup of garlic butter which when upended, drips through a small hole and coats the kebab.
And the taste? Lovely!!!!
This was followed by the lightest sticky toffee pudding I've ever had (and I've had a lot!)
There is a huge range of bottled beers, and they provide a little book (an almanac) with pictures and descriptions.
There are also a range of really different cocktails, many using plant elements as a neat tie in to the name Botanist.
A great evening, good food, very attentive service.
I shall definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun and Quirky Restaurant with Delicious Food and Drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved this place, the decor was fun and the atmosphere great with cool music. The food was delicious and was a treat for the eyes as well as the mouth. The drinks were delicious (the mocktails) and the beer menu was extensive.

All the starters came in quirky fashion, scotch eggs in a salted crisp sticks basket. Then the mains - most of us had the hanging kebabs which tasted delicious and were cooked to perfection and the garlic butter drip was perfect. I had lemon meringue pie for dessert and it was the best i have ever had.

Seriously, give this place a try if you can get a seat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 11amTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely cocktails and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went for pre-dinner drinks and the cocktails were great - really different and fresh, the interior was beautiful and the atmosphere was really nice - could easily have spent the whole evening there. Will definitely go back for a meal the food looked really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaybee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little place but nothing special for food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went out to The Botanist in Leeds for dinner with my boyfriend on a Friday night. We weren't expecting a top-class meal but the food was very nice. Nothing special, but the hanging kebabs were very nice and very popular as could see them on every table!

The bar was very busy but luckily we were tucked round the back on some separate tables. The problem with this though is that it was very hot. The whole place is slightly underground so there are no outside windows and it has no fans or air con to compensate.

Other than that, the whole place was nice; good decor, nice staff, wide range of drinks (if not a little on the pricey side).

Definitely work a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing