We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Food, Fabulous Cocktail Experience!”
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Ranked #66 of 1,838 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A modern bar/restaurant: A celebration of the unconventional, dark and controversial!
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Food, Fabulous Cocktail Experience!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and the Hubby popped in on the off chance of getting a table (unfortunately in wellies and fleece attire, due to it being a total an utter nightmare getting off our estate!) despite this we were given a warm welcome by the two hostesses although it was rammed they assured us that they would have a table soon. We were directed to the bar, the cocktail list looked great and pretty extensive. The Hubby in true fashion decided on 'The Colour Changing One' which was in between a work of art and a science experiment, Great show put on by the bar tender/mixologist and great taste! I went for the more sedate 'Long Island Peach Tea' which although was not as showy certainly packed a punch and tasted sublime! After a shorter wait than we were expecting we were led to a table, yes the table and chairs are quite close together and next time we will book a table a little further in closer to the windows at the end. But we did have a great view of the 'pass' where all the food came in. The waiter was knowledgeable and polite and the food was enjoyable.We had the Nachos and Squid to start, the Nachos were fine but the Squid was lovely! Light batter and not rubbery. I had the New Yorker with Home made coleslaw and Hubby had the Steak sandwich. My sandwich was Fantastic, thoroughly enjoyed it and I have a thing for Coleslaw so was really looking forward to it, didn't fail to deliver was great. The steak sandwich went down very well and was cooked as he wanted. All in all a great experience, we shall be returning but next time shall book and enjoy a bottle of wine as well!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    519
    189
    99
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, will get better hopefully!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited on a Wednesday evening just after the opening the week before. As expected, it was packed out but its good to finally get some new bars and restaurants on the Leeds scene.
I did take soooo long to get served at the bar with only 2 bar staff making drinks and a further 2 or 3 staff behind the bar not serving but clearing glasses, washing up etc. It was very chaotic and unorganised behind the bar and lots of customers were waiting ages to get served. Take note: you need to get more bar staff ASAP as this place will be busy all the time and people will get hacked off if they have to wait as long as we did for a drink on a weekday evening.

After finally getting served we made us of the cool outdoor patio area. This will be popular in the summer and its good as you can smoke out here. Nice to have the outdoor heaters as well.
The toilets are good, maybe could do with a few more. Unisex loos with 3 female cubicles and 2 gents (no urinals). Great that each loo has its own sink as well and good quality hand wash products.

We finally got a table after waiting around 30 minutes. Food servers with very good and attentive. Food was good, not outstanding but good. Will definitely be visiting often. I'm sure this place will grab a lot of custom fro Harvey Nics 4th Floor bar/cafe as it has what Harvey Nics is missing a good outdoor area (where you can smoke as well!).

Good wine list and cocktail list. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauly-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great new addition to Leeds”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We went on opening night and expected it to be busy and we weren't disappointed. The place was buzzing but it was obvious that although things were new the staff had been exceptionally well trained. The food was good quality, well presented and very tasty. We will certainly be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonycav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Busy but worth the wait.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived without a reservation mid-week for lunch and were told that there was a waiting list but that we were the first on it. Whilst waiting we had a drinks in the bar area, which were absolutely delicious. The wait for a table was over 40 minutes but the food once we had ordered arrived very quickly and the waitress went out of her way to be attentive and friendly. All of the food that was being served look very appetising and there did not seem to be any empty plates! Portions were a good size and of a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this as a place to dine or just go for drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cat2Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breath of fresh air”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Finally some new bars have arrived in Leeds and my friends and I had been eagerly awaiting to try The Alchemist. We popped in for cocktails on Saturday afternoon. To say it was busy would be an understatement, we had to wait a while at the bar but when we were served our drinks the wait was forgotten.

I went for the Breakfast at Tiffany's cocktail which was really refreshing. The cocktails are really reasonably priced at around £6.50. Can't wait to go back again when the sun is shining and let the afternoon slip away on the patio.

Great addition to the Leeds bar scene.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liberty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing