We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mrs Atha's Coffee Shop

Mrs Atha's Coffee Shop
Ranked #9 of 67 Coffee & Tea in Leeds
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Friendly staff, great chai & coffee, lovely cakes/food, great ambience, lots of heart been put in :-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nikally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    105
    52
    19
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cheered up a day in Leeds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had time for a day in Leeds for the first time in ages, but when I was ready for a coffee was disappointed to see nothing but chain places all over. Was looking for the haberdashers that somebody told me was near the back of House of Fraser when I noticed Mrs Atha's coffee shop.

What a treat - lovely coffee, a sandwich made with really fresh ingredients and helpful friendly staff. Big scrub top tables with vintage crockery and also free wifi that actually worked - this was definitely my sort of place. Will be heading back there again before too long.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose_of_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
555 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Inviting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice seating area, with a few tables outside. Good atmosphere, with a warm feeling. The cup of coffee served was good but expensive for an americano, when compared with the norm, at £2.20. Cakes were also found to be expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Fueng2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks better than tastes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The first time I went the espresso was only memorable because it was served with a lilliputian glass bottle of water....uhuhhhh...and second time the latte tasted stale, I'm sad to say. I couldn't taste pecan in the pecan pie. Won't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Well done Mrs Atha's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went for breakfast with our daughter - she is pretty good at finding good but "different" places to eat and Mrs Atha's is one of them. Really welcoming from the moment we stepped through the door. Professional but friendly service. Excellent breakfast menu. Superb coffee. An eclectic mix of china and cutlery, seating at scrubbed tables so rustic rather than chic - free WiFi. Very cosy and brilliant food. Well cooked, presented and delicious. Excellent value for money too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Atha's Coffee Shop also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Mrs Atha's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing