We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service but NO atmosphere”
Review of Nawaz Restaurant

Nawaz Restaurant
Ranked #225 of 1,838 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Good food, good service but NO atmosphere”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night having had to book in advance as the venue is very popular.

The food was excellent, although my main course - lemon chilli chicken didn't look too appetising as it was bright red with artificial colouring!

The service was very attentive and friendly.

The room itself was awful though - it was that brightly lit and lacking of atmosphere it was like eating in a greasy spoon café.

Not sure if we'd go back or not.....certainly not for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    39
    8
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Eastern delight.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Booking is essential at this busy Indian that amongst other things has the best pickle tray and lassi that I have had. An interesting menu (some weekly specials would be good though!?) and good service await with the only real downside being the lack of space around the seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamTParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best customer service and curry in whole of Crossgates, Leeds”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went in with partner and parents, food excellent, service superb and atmosphere was fantastic best curry can tell it is cooked fresh as I asked for some ingredients to be changed and was happy to oblige.

Would recommend 5*

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Yet another lovely meal enjoyed, as always food 10 out of 10, staff attentive as ever. Obviously as this is a regular haunt we know the staff very well now, but their standards never fail. This is by far the best Indian in Leeds!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family outing”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've only been eating Indian food the last 12 months it used to be just chicken korma but now I try to have somet different every time ,but I'm addicted to the fish starter. I've even started to eat prawns ( cooked). The food is the best I've ever eaten and the service is so friendly the restaurant is so clean love it xx thanks everyone that cooks the great food and the service xx see u again soon x

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nawaz Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Nawaz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing