We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyliner Restaurant

Skyliner Restaurant
Ranked #140 of 1,790 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Skyliner, we are a family run restaurant and takeaway in our 53rd year. We pride ourselves in providing top quality fish & chips sourcing the best products available daily. We offer a Gluten Free menu too, including our famous fish & chips. We also cater for parties and functions with free delivery, or why not have your party right here with us?
Leeds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Already a regular in the take-away, we popped into the restaurant recently for a family meal. Well, if we thought the take-away was great, the restaurant is even better. All our meals were excellent, with the jumbo fish being especially tasty. Can't wait for the next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    41
    20
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Not as good as Bryans - but definitely worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just been for tea, and have mixed feelings. My 5 year old had a huge sausage and chips (also cordial and ice cream) for £3.99. He had sausage, chips, tea, bread and coke and I had the fish platter and a diet coke and the bill came to £25.90. Happy with the price and the amount of food.
The service was slow, but the waitress acknowledged and apologized for this, which I thought was the right thing to do.
My fish platter promised haddock, calamari, prawns and scampi. I got a mini haddock, which I thought was rather cheeky (it doesn't say that on the menu)! The calamari and prawns were cooked in chip shop batter, the calamari was especially good, moist and tender - exactly as it should be. The scampi was frozen and coated in breadcrumbs (I am not into processed food). Which let down the meal.
The decor and ambiance and even the food presentation was better than Bryans. But the fish was not. The batter was too heavy and the fish was a bit on the dry side. Bryans fish leaves this place for dead. Don't get me wrong , the fish was good, but not great. The chips were big and chunky with fluffy insides. More importantly it was all cooked in dripping, therefore it was a million times better than these so called vegetarian friendly places with their oil - yuk!
If you are on this side of the city then go to Skyliner, overall it deserves 4 out of 5. If you are on the other side of the city then stick with Bryans.
We will deffinately go back and have just the calamari - YUM!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Has be to be one of the best Fish and Chips I've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We travelled down from Ripon not knowing what to expect, it was our day off and following a conversation about fish and chips in a bar the previous night and how i am not a great lover of fish the Skyliner was mentioned. The owner now known to us was polite and courtious and seemed to treat us like royalty nothing was to much trouble, as the restaurant was busy and it been a nice day we decided to eat alfresco. The fish and chips were cooked to order and served clean white plates with bread, butter and tartar sauce. We sat with a couple of beers and watched the world go by eating fish and chips to die for. (CAN NOT SHOUT LOUD ENOUGH ABOUT THIS PLACE)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swalesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best fish and chip take away have ever had. Always polite and efficient service.
Great for parties too. Had a social event of nearly 80 people, Skyliner delivered Fish and chips, 76 very generous portions and piping hot. Very friendly and very obliging service. Fantastic value for money too. Will definitely use them again for a party and a take away for home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best fish and chip shops/restaurants in Leeds.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

As far as Fish & Chips go, this is one of the best Fish & Chip shops around... I've scored a 5, as i've honestly had better fish and chips anywhere... Always fresh, with generous portions, great batter, and chips done exactly how they should be... Also a great range of different types of fish on offer, you know what type of fish you are receiving here, rather than something just marked fish. Check it out, you won't be disappointed...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kieren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyliner Restaurant also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Skyliner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing