We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let down by attention to detail”

The Colton Mill Harvester
Ranked #444 of 1,894 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At The Colton Mill Harvester in Leeds food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Leeds, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Brown Moor, Colton and Halton, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were taken to our table immediately. Unfortunately a long wait at a wobbly table until we received attention. We were sat in view of a toilet door that was not self closing and at this busy time of the evening was left open regularly.......not what I want when I am eating !!!!!!

Excellent salad bar, Main course was good value. Overall it was the attention to detail that let it down but it is what it is. Expect to wait during busy times and for service to be slow. As a previous reviewer said you do not go to the Harvester for a fine dining experience.

Thank BIGBLUE186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your visit. We really do appreciate your feedback.
Regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 326 of 339 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

You don't go to a Harvester restaurant for a fine dining experience, you go for a family grilled food type meal that doesn't break the bank. That certainly is our experience. What I found disappointing was the number of weighting staff to covers that where allocated. We very much wanted to pay our bill but couldn't for a good 15 minutes. The food was cooked - all steaks were cooked to the same degree so no distinction between rare/medium/well done. Presentation was poor and inconsistent between identical orders with token garnishes that did nothing to enhance the flavour of the rest of the meal.

Smaller, privately owned restaurants can grill meat, give it to you and and graciously accept payment for less money in less time quilt delivering more in terms of atmosphere and flavour.



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YorkshireCornishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.

Thank you.

Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Recently came here with friends after staying at the local travellodge.

The food was expensive for what you got, the burgers were full of grease which gave a horrible taste and the chips were just awful.

The service was ok but had to stand by a till waiting to pay whilst the server was flirting with a chef even though she had acknowledged me.

The best part was the salad bar.

There is a pizza hut, mcdonalds and kfc nextdoor as neighbours, id avoid here and go to.one of these.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matt1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This restaurant is good value and the staff are friendly. It can get busy but that is because it is popular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback.
Kind regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Oh how I wish this place was on my doorstep! We loved this meal and place so much we went back for breakfast.

You pick a main main and 2 sides, all 4 of us ate something different and we all wouldhave eaten it again if we could have squeezed it in. Service was excellent.

When we arrived there was a 40 minute wait, it was worth it but maybe book ahead just in case. The place was heaving and and it was 8.30pm but it was a cosy, friendly atmosphere and we were seated near a window which was really cosy as it was snowing and looked all christmassy!

The breakfast again was great value and we would not hesitate to return.

We joined their mailing list and printed a voucher for free ice cream sundaes which are around the £3.50 mark so extra bargain as saved us £15-ish on our bill.

Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Colton Mill Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colton Mill Harvester also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Colton Mill Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing