We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Boutique!”
Review of Alfred

Alfred
Ranked #592 of 1,838 Restaurants in Leeds
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: A marvellous little bar in Meanwood, brought to you by the legendary North Bar. Slap bang in the middle of Meanwood, minutes from Meanwood Park, Alfred is perfect for dog-walkers, families, and those out for a stroll. Knowledgable and friendly staff take you through the world beer range, surrounded by stylish decor with a Hitchcockian twist.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique Boutique!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

What more can you ask from a bar? The atmosphere alone must be the envy of many similar (but inferior) bars. Add to this the friendly and knowledgeable service, a massive range of ales and some of the most eclectic decorating you've ever seen and you have an intimate bar that is crying out for a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The absolute perfect bar. Infinite selection of drinks, great ambience, nice meat and cheese platter. I had an Anchor Steam and chilled out reading the paper.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prinny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best bar in Leeds!!! Must visit for all!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've loved Alfred since the day it opened. The staff are really lovely and welcoming so I'm happy to go in on my own and relax using the wifi. The Meat and cheese boards are a genius idea, just enough to keep you going if you've headed in straight after work. Everyone knows each other in the bar and if you don't, you very soon will. Dogs are a welcome addition and a fab selection of beers. The only recommendations I can make are to supply Lincolnshire sausage pie and a good old cotes du rhone red wine! It's better than any of the bars in Headingley and has brought Meanwood to life!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L3GSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What more could you want in a local boozer!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Alfred is great - friendly, welcoming and always good ales on. From inception Alfred's is what Meanwood needed and is certainly fulfilling its role in the community as a place to meet for a sociable drink or two. Meanwood has a few other pubs but either lack atmosphere or are in need of a refurb. Alfred's in winter feels like an alpine ski chalet and in summer feels like a log cabin, we love it!
The staff are good fun and do a great job - we never fail to have a good time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like having a pint at home with friends...and bar staff.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Alfred isn't small, it's just the right size. Very friendly staff, serving an assortment of local and world drinks. The place is perfect for an after work drink and wind down, or a Friday night session, or a Sunday papers/pint/cheeseboard. It's like having drinks with your friends in your cosy living room, I'm so at home there I even have a pint on the wall with my name underneath. Crel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crrel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfred also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Alfred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing