We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUALITY FOOD IN A SAFE, FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING ENVIRONMENT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arch Cafe

The Arch Cafe
Ranked #3 of 29 Dessert in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Arch Cafe is a new and exciting venture in Leeds City Centre, and is a cafe with a social conscience.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“QUALITY FOOD IN A SAFE, FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING ENVIRONMENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Found this place by accident, tucked behind what used to be Lewis's in Leeds. Its clean and modern with a menu that combines traditional and modern food at excellent prices given the quality of food. Even serve proper tea leaves and not bags. The food is home made using locally sourced produce.

An added bonus is that all money goes to support the work of Age UK Leeds.

The whole place is very clean, inc the loo's and the is free wi-fi. Its child friendly and all on one level.Also has a small outside area looking onto the church - a nice quiet oasis in an otherwise hectic city centre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KJAVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Good cafe if you can get a seat as very popular at lunch time. The cafe has a nice atmosphere. I like the mixture of modern cafe next to the old church. I had a very nice sandwich here. I was very impressed.

They also do breakfast, afternoon teas etc. I intend to go back and try the cakes as they look delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prawny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well priced, tasty and help the charity AgeUK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tucked away behind the Headrow and close to the St Johns Shopping Centre is this little gem. It is run as part of the charity AgeUK(Leeds) but is certainly not just for oldies. With an interesting selection of snacks and home made cakes all at very keen prices it is worth the effort to find it.It is an oasis of peace in the city centre. If the weather ever brightens up enough there will be space to sit outside.Although I am now a member of the charity at the time of this visit I was not and hope that if others have a similarly satisfactory experience they might want to know more about the charity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cobbydaler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

good home cooked food and the best brownies in the world. This cafe is In an old old church and very picturesque. Great service.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bstkinson366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We only found this cafe by accident, we were in Leeds as part of a weekend tour so had decided to do a couple of geocaches. One of them was in the grounds of the church which is next to the cafe. We thought that as the rest of Leeds was packed because of the german market we would try here for lunch. So glad we found it. Staff accommodating, food good, and an excellent pot of tea, reasonable prices and any profit goes to age uk. If you are in the area give it a go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandjankers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arch Cafe also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Arch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing