We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally good value food and service let down by an abrupt and rude manager” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cork & Claw - CLOSED

The Cork & Claw
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: British, Steakhouse, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Cork & Claw is a Seafood and Grill restaurant designed as a 'fisherman's shack' with high quality fresh fish and meat delivered daily by Ramus Seafood and Sykes Farm. The new restaurant opened in February and has a wide selection of great seafood, shellfish and meat. It also has a good choice for our young guests and our vegitarian lovers. Enjoy a light lunch or dinner with also early starter and main course option between 5.30Pm and 7pm for just £12.95.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good value food and service let down by an abrupt and rude manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate at the duke of Wellington on Xmas day. Having lived in the area for a while we have seen this pub go through many changes of management, years of success and decline.
We felt the pub now offers a much warmer atmosphere and features a separate bar area where you can enjoy an ale next to the wood burning fire.
Food and service were both of a very high standard - we couldn't think of another pub in the area that could match this.
Our only gripe is with the mannerism of the manager of the pub. He came across as quite patronising and rude, something you shouldn't have to deal with when spending upwards of £50 a head on Xmas day!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first visit to this establishment for food, after recommendation. The food in general was good. The starters were very good, the dessert was very good, the main course was average but adequate. Most of the staff were friendly, the hostess was excellent, very welcoming with a high standard of customer service skill. The waitresses were pleasant and the service was prompt. We did ask for additional drinks (my husband actually went to the bar to order them) as these were not offered, although they were brought to the table. The restaurant itself was very pleasantly presented and comfortable. Unfortunately the service was completely let down by the proprietor, who made a few customer service blunders during our visit. We were initially seated, then asked to move as "This table has actually already been booked by a group of four", we moved (actually recieving a better table) but then place settings were whisked from under us whilst we were deciding upon our meals. In general I would describe the 'tone' of the service from him to be patronising. Then upon recieving payment of £75.00 for three Sunday lunches, he asked us to vacate our table to make way for the next sitting prior to us having finished our almost empty glasses. This service and experience has unfortunately left me with a sour taste in my mouth and we shall not be returning for seconds. I am very disappointed as the food was good and the establishment came as highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost excellent. Potential to be one of the best if the service levels improve and the delicious food is served hot.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food. All in our party agreed the food was the best we've tasted for some time. Sadly it was served cold. Portion sizes where excellent.
Service was varied based on relatively quick order taking, first drink and food course service. Then no further drinks where offered, slow follow up service and subsequent courses service times with prompts needed from - disapointing. Staff could of been friendlier. Not very smiley.
Value was ok. Mid to high pricing for the area / type of venue would be satisfactory value on a normal / good day if the food was served hot and the service was friendlier and of a higher standard than today's visit.
Atmosphere was great. The Duke has friendly, lively bar and restaurant areas with mostly locals enjoying Sunday with their friends and family.
It's our 4th time dining at The Duke since its re-opening and our second with children. The Duke seem to tolerate children rather than welcome them. On Sundays like this it could be short sighted if families are not made to feel more welcome as around 75% of guests whilst we where there had children of primary school age in their parties.
Would we go back? - certainly! The food is delicious, It's local to us and we wish it well. However to improve, the management and staff must provide a friendlier, happier (with a smile) service, check on tables now and again to see if the food is ok or if they can provide additional drinks or side orders to guests and clear tables quicker. Make families with younger children feel welcome rather than just tolerated, by being responsive to their needs and short waiting tolerances and maybe try bring a little interactive.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrOCDandMrsBothered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not maintaining it's reputation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A year ago under the new management this pub restaurant was exceptional. Very memorable Sunday lunches with steaming dishes of fresh vegetables, lovely juicy sliced roasts and superb desserts. Unfortunately the standards have been gradually dropping. Now it is another very average Sunday lunch although the menu remains appetising the food is very average. No longer do you have freshly cut roasts but what looks like pre-packaged sliced beef that's been re-heated in the microwave. There's no trimmings with the pork or chicken I.e. stuffing and the vegetables are also pre-packed and not home prepared. If you want huge Yorkshire Puds you won't be disappointed but the gravy came with mustard seeds in it. I had mentioned I was allergic to mustard when I ordered my duck but this was overlooked in the kitchen. Fortunately we spotted the seeds and returned the duck to the kitchen where after a short wait I had roast chicken. In fairness this arrived with fresh hot veg and apologises but I was dismayed that my allergy had been ignored. Desserts offered are a good selection and good quality but beware the Eton Mess is all cream and no fruit. Such a pity this pub has gone downhill. We have eaten here on 8 - 10 occasions In the last year but will try elsewhere in future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin s, Manager at The Cork & Claw, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments I can only apologise for the lack of diligence in the preparation of your dish.We take people's food allergies and dietary requirements seriously and can address these as we use only fresh ingredients and prepare them on the premiss If you should choose to visit us again we will be only to happy to serve stuffing with either your roast pork or chicken.
As to the dropping of standards this is not a view expressed by the increasing number of guests who give praise at the time of their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Local Pub & Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having just bought a house in this wonderful village it certainly made our decision a good one. Both my husband and I have always wanted to live in a village that has a good local pub and the Duke certainly didn't disappoint. On entering we were greeted with a familiar face Martin who has owned and run a number of fabulous restaurants previously and we were therefore very excited to see him in residence at the village pub. Following an extensive refurbishment we have visited several times and have now become regulars to what we call our "Sunday Lunch" treat as the food is simply fantastic and is so reasonable it just isn't worth us making our own sunday roast anymore. We have also dined on other evenings and have been very impressed with the choice of menu and quality of the food. There is a fabulous atmosphere at the Duke with cosy fires and rustic floors and unlike other "village" type pubs everyone is made to feel welcome including the four legged furry friends (dogs). From Friday night relaxed drinking (chance to try all the wines (me) and guest beers (hubby) to Sunday chilled family lunches the Duke has everything to offer. I would love to keep this as our best kept secret but we cant stop raving about the place and letting everyone know they should come and visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cork & Claw also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing