We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duck and Drake

Duck and Drake
Ranked #398 of 1,808 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: 15 local hand pulled cask ales, locally sourced award winning pork pies and mushy peas,food available all day,real fires, open 10am till late 7 days a week, live music Wed to Sun, parking nearby, bus station 2mins, train station 10 mins
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

what a great night we had on Friday! i was spolit for choice with the real ales and what a quality range they have! the manager was very helpful and gave us lots of helpful information about the different beers, its great to have a pub that not only offers such a great range but that has the support from all the staff to give a great customer service and experience.
The atmosphere and set up of the pub is great, shame we dont have more of these proper boozers with proper and caring customer service. fab beer garden, fab live music venue and love the piano in the corner! cant wait for my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_ta_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Past glories haunt a pub that should be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Knowing how good the pub was in the past does taint my judgement but I felt sorely let down on my last visit. The new outdoor decking is a great addition but the attempt to sell 12 cask ales without the needed midweek throughput of customers does make your beer choice a bit of a "quality lottery". I'm also of the opinion that sometimes it's not the problem but how it is dealt with that makes the difference. In this case, when returning a murky pint, it was very evident the landlord didn't come from "the customer is always right" school of thinking.
Unless I knew the band were particularly good I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SamTParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“no frills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Top notch down to earth pub on the edge of the city centre. Great range of decent beers and bar staff who know what they are selling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonbinns54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Love calling here and always do when I'm in town.
Please don't change anything, a real classic boozer with fabulous real ale

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MilesHinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellency can't wait to visit again,, brill staff, nice beer,, nice atmosphere want to visit again, cannot wait

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 24078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck and Drake also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Duck and Drake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing