We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant, excellent food, very friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elysium - CLOSED

Elysium
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: City centre located LS1 (2min Walk from Leeds Train Station) modern Italian Restaurant/Bar, offering Modern Italian Cuisine. With a new food menu for the restaurant to appeal to people with all tastes of Italy. Offering great value meals with Fine Italian Dining. While the menu covers most regions of Italy, there is a particular emphasis on the cuisine of Italy. Elysium is committed to sourcing ingredients from small, artisan producers, with many specially imported from Italy. In true Italian style, we insist at Elysium preparing and making all the bread and pasta fresh each day, complemented only by the very best in seasonal British produce.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, excellent food, very friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited Elysium twice in July and were very impressed with everything. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The restaurant is very spacious, the food was lovely on both occasions. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a lovely meal in a nice setting. Looking for Italian in Leeds...you must go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel22179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    81
    53
    60
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

A friend and I visited the restaurant on the 24th July whilst on a break in Leeds. Beautiful restaurant, very stylish décor and good air conditioning on a very hot evening.

However, the waitress was inefficient and seemed not to have the answers to our questions about the menu, although friendly enough. The food was very disappointing and when we were asked if everything was OK we said 'no' and explained why and despite that the manager/owner didn't even bother to come over to see us to apologise, so basically our comments were ignored!!

My lemon sole was overcooked and the potatoes looked like they'd been cooked in very old fat - should have been golden brown but were actually greyish...........my friend was not consulted about how should would like her venison steak cooked, all in all very unprofessional.

The owner needs to heed the comments on this site about the food - after all there are plenty of restaurants in Leeds and why would you go to this one if the food disappoints? Needless to say we left after the first course and certainly would not recommend this restaurant, quite the contrary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAWN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visited here on 13th July with my wife and daughter. Food was great at a decent price. Staff very friendly and helpful. So good we returned later in the day for drinks. Good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very friendly staff, and good surroundings. Good Italian food, lovely pizzas with nice thin base. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephcl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a dissapointment?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We chose to eat here, despite having never heard of it because of the rave reviews it has. Well I think they must have gone to a different reastaurant! The food was at best average and the atmosphere non existant. For much of the time there was only one other table taken (this was peak time on a Saturday night) & it was cold! The only positive thing I can say is that the waiter tried very hard.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HFMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elysium also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing