We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre location”
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Just what you want from a hotel on weekend city break. Very helpful and friendly on arrival allowing our party an early check in. Clean room, well priced compared to others in similar location.
Good choice for breakfast and a swift check out.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Joanne A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent stay at Park Plaza Leeds.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,994 - 2,000 of 3,112 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has left a great impression for me on my first visit (which was a fair few weeks ago now) I wasn't a person for reviews then, but now, this place is amazing, I was in Leeds for a re-union with friends, i needed central and prefer private parking, (which is available but limited on space) I stayed here for a couple of nights and the happy atmosphere and polite staff from front of house, and the lady who was serving on the bar (downstairs) was just fantastic, helpful on places of where to go, what to see, places to shop and eat, friendly and fantastic! Amazing team here and would recommend to everyone and anyone who was staying in Leeds!!

Ps The restaurant & bar team in the hotel also deserve a thank you, very clean, good food, and nice cocktails!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Fraser B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of Park Plaza Leeds!

I will pass your comments on to the team who will be thrilled to hear such great feedback!

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This has becme myhotel of choice when I'm in Leeds. It is just so conveneintly located ... right by city centre, Trinity and the train station. The rooms are fine, meeting rooms are fine. Service overall is fine, although the service in the bar is a bit odd (We were refused a tray to carry drinks incase we dropped it, and refused cocktails, and the staff just seemed to resent guests for trying to order drinks). The meeting room staff got a little bamboozled when we asked if we could get in the room early to start early. But thats just being picky - it was fine - and is definately my default Leeds hotel now after staying a couple of times. Gym was good.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are bigger, but it's just a lot of extra empty space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Gee_Monkey,

It is good to see that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I will investigate your comments regarding bar service - I find it very odd that a member of staff would have refused you a tray to carry drinks, or that cocktails would be refused if you were in our cocktail bar. Cocktails are served every night from 17.00 in Chino Latino. Rest assured that this matter is being looked into.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you for taking the time to review Park Plaza Leeds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We booked this room around two months before staying through booking.com and got it for £87 on a saturday night,it should have been £170. We parked in the recommended Q park which is less than a 5 min walk and that was £12 for 24hours with the hotels voucher they give to you upon leaving. Our room was on the 19th floor was large, clean and modern. I am not sure it was worth the £170 but that seems to be the going rate in the city centre on a weekend. We did not eat at the hotel so can not comment on that but the staff were friendly and the hotel is in a great location. I would stay again if i got it at a good price again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell-lord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Business trip to Leeds, decided to rely on the Park Plaza as we use it as our home from home in Nottingham when up in the office there - see previous reviews....astonishingly average from reception to room - not welcomed and my room was old, cold and unwelcoming. It seemed half done - as if it had not been stayed in for months. Poor bar and awful food outside of the usual expensive Chino Latino option.
So sad - and now not looking forward to breakfast tomorrow. They need to up their act and raise standards to a consistent level in line with others in the chain and with Radisson Blu.

Can't wait to leave. Not recommended even for a one night business stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveH652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Having stayed at the Park Plaza in Leeds a number of years ago on business I chose this hotel from a number of central hotels all at a similar price for a one night stay on leisure where we wanted to be in easy walking distance of the First Direct Arena.

The hotel was very much as I remembered it, we chose to upgrade to an executive room as these are more spacious, though the standard rooms are not small, and are all corner rooms meaning that you get views in two directions from this 20 floor tower - we were on the 16th floor (1608)

There are a couple of things to note if you have never stayed in this hotel before - The reception is around the rear of the tower block if you approach from the railway station side, it is above a very busy road junction so if you open the windows it can be noisy - however the rooms are air conditioned so you dont have to & I find the landings and corridors a bit dark - not bright and welcoming like the rooms, recption and restaurant - but that is just my personal taste.

The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the room comfortable and spacious as promised. The only slight critisism (I emphasise slight!) was the glass en-suite door - very swish! but if one wants to use the bathroom during the night the light invades the whole of the bedroom threatening to wake other occupants, in our room the doors wasn't very clean with splashes and stains apparent particularly when looking from the inside with the door shut (though the room and bathroom themselves were beautifully clean), and a bit diifficult to close quietly. Also there is no where to hang items of clothing - or the bathrobe provided within the bathroom - no hook provided.

Breakfast was as expected for this type of hotel - plenty of choice of good food with attentive, friendly staff

Room Tip: The higher up the tower you go the quieter they are & those facing South & West are over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Location of the hotel is fantastic, really close to the shops and restaurants. Bit of a walk from the car park that you are recommended to use but do get a discount because staying at the hotel. Staff were helpful. We had an executive room for three adults as 16 year old son was with us. When I booked emailed through the booking site as wasn't sure whether breakfast had been included however never received a response. Not a cheap hotel, one night stay plus breakfast was around £160 but there wasn't much availability in Leeds that evening. Room was big however very tired. Did have everything, dressing gowns, safe, hair dryer, fridge. Looked clean but when moved a chair to sit down, toe nail clippings on the carpet ugh! Telly was an old Phillips that had definitely had it's day as picture a bit shaky. Bathroom door was frosted glass and faced bed settee in room. So when light on could see movement and had approx 3 inch gap so could hear everything going on, not great. Wouldn't recommend staying here if have a choice, stay in Crowne Plaza, price similar but much better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Hilton Leeds City
#38 of 87 in Leeds
2,277 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,154 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#14 of 87 in Leeds
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $75 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing