We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for city centre activities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great for city centre activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed over one night meeting friends just prior to Christmas. We didn't want to have to worry about catching the last train home. We stayed at the Park Plaza in 2012 for the same reason. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Leeds two minutes walk from the railway station. It is also in close proximity to the huge range of restaurants and bars. They are all within a maximum 15 minutes walk of the hotel. The hotel itself is reasonably well furnished but in need of ongoing maintenance in rooms. I think that, as many guests visit on the same basis as myself, there is an attitude that as long as bed linen and towels are clean, attention to other details are not very important. The mini bar in my colleague's room did not work. Having reported it, nothing was done.
In our rooms the welcome message on the TV informed that there was a 'happy hour' when cocktails were 'two for one' every Friday. When we went to the cocktail bar we were told that there was a private function due to start and there was no other provision for us to take advantage of the cocktail offer.
The breakfast provided was varied and of good quality. Unfortunately, furnishings and floors in the restaurant were not very clean. As I say, for our purposes, only spending the one night there, the experience was adequate.
The siting of the hotel means it is very popular with parties and approaching Christmas means that the higher the demand, the higher the price of rooms. We had to pay 50% more this year than last.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors enjoy good views across the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    792
    514
    253
    183
See reviews for
278
893
117
850
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had an overnight stay before travelling onward and really enjoyed it. The staff were polite and helpful the room was warm clean and very comfortable and breakfast was hot and served without fuss. This is a great hotel for anyone from business to family and it can be highly recommended

Room Tip: Having booked a superior double I would recommend that or above for the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Derek W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with some great feedback!

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others.

We do hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just across the road from the train station and 2 minutes walk to the new Trinity shopping mall, ideally located. Very quiet room which was essential as birthday treat. Booked the executive room and well worth the extra cost as very large room and lovely bathroom. Excellent choice of hot drinks to make in room. Didn't eat or drink at hotel as there were large Christmas parties being held there and preferred a quieter evening but would try another time.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room on a higher level for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonj890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Sharonj890,

Thank you for taking the time to review Park Plaza Leeds and leave us with some excellent feedback! I do hope you will visit us again soon and this time try some fantastic Pan Asian food or a cocktaill in our restaurant, Chino Latino.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I was booked in here to attend my works Christmas 'do'....

When checking in we were told breakfast would be £8.95 if we paid then, £14.95 if we paid in the morning...
We met for drinks in the bar but were unable to put anything on the room...

Very basic rooms, nice bathrooms, cold reception staff..
Breakfast was mediocre.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DC1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear DC1177,

As with many Hotels, Park Plaza Leeds offers a reduced price for breakfast if booked when checking in. This offer is an incentive for guests staying in the Hotel and not intended for any other reason than to give our guests the option of a great value breakfast as an advanced purchase.

To address your issues with room charge: The only reason you would be unable to charge drinks to your bedroom account is if you declined the option when prompted of leaving credit details along with a pre authorisation when checking in. As soon as these details have been taken, your bedroom is opened for charges.

I have noted your comments regarding your mediocre breakfast and also your comments regarding our reception team and these will be addressed with the relevant departments.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here last night on a room only basis, so we cannot comment on the restraurants. Travelling to Leeds by train we found the hotel to be very convenient approx 3 mins walk from station. We found the reception staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful.Our room was on the 14 floor overlooking the city. The double glazing is very good keeping out any noise from the traffic / air con units. The room appeared used but very clean everything worked as expected was warm and comfortable. We had a good nights sleep and found the hotel to be very quiet. We would definately recommend this as a comfortable 4 star hotel and would use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terribletuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear terribletuba,

Many thanks for your positive review of our Hotel!

I do hope we can welcome you back to Park Plaza Leeds in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Since my last visit, it appears standards have dropped alarmingly. On arrival i was assigned the incorrect room, when trying to contact the reception staff, my calls went unanswered. The room itself was appalling. Dirty towels, bodged repairs, faulty lock on the bathroom door, taps etc. This is not what i expected considering my previous visit. Television was outdated, decor looks tired, needs refreshing. If it wasn't for the location, there is no way i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Executive suites on the higher floors offer much better value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Ruel D,

it is disappointing to read your comments regarding the standard of your room. Rest assured that these issues are being actioned with our maintenance and housekeeping teams.

I'm sorry that not everything was to your satisfaction on this occasion and i do hope you will consider us for future visits with the reassurance that this seems to be an isolated occurence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was a Christmas treat for my family. On check in and unbeknown to us one of our rooms was an accessible room, although this was not requested and not required as prefer a room with a bath. The room was very basic and the bathroom was very tired. The heating was not working on the entire floor so it was freezing, we were brought a fan heater which didn't work and had to be replaced, the tv also didn't work and had to be replaced, the shower set the alarms off in the bathroom and we were called by reception who insisted sending an engineer up to check everything was ok. Breakfast was cold, the scrambled egg was inedible and it lacked selection if you wanted continental. I asked to speak to someone on checkout, not to complain but to point out that the overall stay was not up to what I expected from the Park Plaza brand. The duty manager could not have demonstrated less interest and when I said I wasn't looking for compensation he then offered to reduce my bill by £7.50!! I could not have been more insulted. Would I stay again - unfortunately not & I do not like writing negative reviews but on this occasion when a trip is supposed to be a treat I feel compelled to advise other Trip Advisor users to consider staying elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyandBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear TillyandBella,

I am sorry that on this occasion your stay fell below our usual excellent standards.

All of the points raised are being reviewed and i can only apologise if you felt that when raised at the time, they were not actioned accordingly.

We pride ourselves on customer service and it is disappointing to read that we did not deliver during your stay.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Property: Park Plaza Leeds
Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#19 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing